Jojo Jag vet det!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
February 20th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What a week! For someone who has next to no classes, I certainly have kept myself busy. Last weekend I took a last minute trip to Stockholm where I stayed with Sam (who I met last year in Costa Rica) and Philippe. I had the best of times! When I arrived we had a quick bite to eat and went into town to a bar with their friends. The next day Sam took me down to this huge frozen lake and I took my first steps on real frozen water. After about 3 steps, I slipped over, fell flat on my back and whacked my head.. typical. That night Sam made an epic dinner and had some more friends around for jamming and drinks!! These boys are seriously talented on whatever instrument they can find.. and luckily they had a violin so I could join in too! As the night grew on we ventured out to a local bar where we totally owned the dance floor.

I woke up the next morning to the boys making an epic scone breakfast. Swedish men are ridiculous in the kitchen, it’s almost embarrassing for someone like me. After breakky we went into town and chilled for the rest of the day. That night I finally cooked for them and made hamburgers- surprise, surprise!! These boys live in a house with a sauna, so after dinner that’s exactly what we did. We let it get unbearably hot, had some of Philippe’s delicious homemade beer and ran outside to roll around in the snow. It felt like knives were piercing my skin, but after running back into the sauna it was the most relaxing feeling in the world!

The next day I hung out with Bear and Christian who I met in Fiji a few years ago! It was so awesome to see them again and funny to see Christian pale. We had Asian food and then fika and then I returned back to Sam and Philippe’s place to have even more food. On Monday the boys also hosted their own church which was fun and I got to see Elwer from Costa Rica again!

Tuesday meant my return to Lund (Tack for the hospitality Stockholm amigos!) and valentine’s day, so on Wednesday night the girls and I had a belated celebration at Aude’s place. We also had a secret santa thing. Funnily enough, Bianca and I had each other! She got my favourite brownies, a love heart pastry and love heart candies- it was the best present in the whole world!! I got her some maple syrup, waffles, blue berries and an Australian Koala.

Last Friday I also experienced my first sittning at Osgota Nation. It consisted of pre-dinner drinks, a three course meal of the most delicious food in the world, a ridiculous amount of different types of alcohol, and singing Swedish songs. The night got pretty crazy! I made the whole way home on my bike and totally stacked it as I entered the bike shed, resulting in my worst bruises yet. Luckily I was able to recover at the party at X and Y block- the biggest korridor party I have seen yet. The next morning I got a text from Bianca telling me she fell off her bike entering her place, and then that night we found out Eric and his friend also had a crash! I thought this was pretty funny and I guess the lesson learnt it to not ride your bike when it had been snowing and raining at the same time after a sittning.

Yesterday afternoon I spent a few hours with Philippe in Helsingborg, which is a town on the beach. It was sooooo cool to see the first parts of the ocean frozen, and the sun setting over it- my favourite part of the day!On a different note, no-one seems to care about classes! I have a group assignment to do and because we are all travelling we can meet up to do it until March the 8th. Hilarious!



So as usual, I’ve decided to go back to Stockholm and Helsingborg when it’s warmer. This Thursday I am going to Lapland (many thanks to Auty for organising) to hopefully experience the Northern lights. This is going to be one of the highlights of being here I think. I am also about to pay for my journey to Russia... and so the excitement continues!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb