Stockholm HAPPY BDAY BRI!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 9th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and my two buddiesMe and my two buddiesMe and my two buddies

First one of the day! only one cure to a hangy
Well I definetly passed out in my clothes. Hung over as hell when I woke up too. Oh man it was rough. That absinthe did me in. I felt fine until that. Oh wow you have to be careful with that crap. Thats for sure. I was totally surprised to see most of the girls up as well. Not the Aussie though. She had a bucket beside the bed. haha. I even had to hang my head over the porcelian once or twice that morning. No breakfast either. I went on the computer for abit and checked out things to do in Sweden. I had a shower and started to recover.
I booked another night in the same hostel because checkout was 12 and it was already 1130 so I had to. It was a super nice place anyways. Free hot showers. 6 Internet stations. Free food, well pasta and tea anyways. And to top it off they had guides of Stockholm and sweden. You had to give a deposit for these or your passport. I didnt want to worry about my passport anyways so thats what I gave them. It got me thinking about the vneurability of doing that, and what would happen if they did loose it!!! Anyways I left the hostel with my camel back and thought on the way out. Im gonna really want one of these beers later that I bought last night. I might as well take one for later. So thats what I did. Set off and Lincoln and the others were still passed out. Alex was taking a flight that day so I said goodbye.
Walked down the main drag where we had been last night. Beautiful day out. I got to the end of the island we were staying on Sodermalm,which was just on the outskirts of the city center. The next island was called Gamla Stan, which means old town in Swedish. I got thirsty and was tired of carrying around the bottle so I had a drink with my buddy the elf. It was great I walked through the touristy alleys with my beer in hand enjoying it. Saw a huge statue of George and the Dragon.
Walked down to the Royal Palace and saw the preperations for the big sailing event the were hosting this month sponsered by Volvo. The boats were coming next week so I was a tab bit early. I walked over to the palace and saw some of the fancy guards standing there. I walked around the front and was tempted to check out the Palce where they had the crown jewels and things like that. It was kind of expensive and I wasnt that interested, and had tons of stuff to do so I kept on. Walked out the gates and down the steps towards the next island Ostermalm which was central Stockholm. There were more of those crazy school kids. Everywhere! Must have seen 15 buses that day. Looks like a lot of fun. Wish that was legal in Canada. Loud music too. I was especially happy when they played Kids by MGMT great song. Crossed the bridge and I was already getting hungry. I looked in the Rough Guides book for a good place to get cheap food. They recommended one of many of Swedens smorgasbords to sample a lot of different foods so I thought that would be a good plan, especially because lunch was like half price. So I found a place half way over town that they recommended and set out to hopefully make it in time. By now it was something around 330 so I was definetly pushing lunch. Old people are even eating dinner by now. So I set out with the map for this place called Osterhalm. Managed to find it within a few mins, but I was confused because the building it was had a poster for it but when I went inside it was only a market. I searched every market botique to see if they had a table in the back somewhere but nothing. So I went back outside and there it said go upstairs! HA there I go again. So I went upstairs and I was in good luck because it was lunch until 5! What a deal it was 80 krones and I could eat as much as I liked with drinks and dessert. Too bad it wasnt really a Swedish resturaunt. The guys running it were from Italy!! Oh well it was a good try. I ate tons and read my guidebook. It was totally dead inside the restaurant. Must have only been 8 ppl including the staff sitting down eating. Ha I tired most of the dishes. Lotsa differnt meats. Fish and pork and chicken and everything. I had this one dish which tasted to me like eel. Turns out it was eggplant in some fish sauce. I was grossed out by that. I didnt have anything to put stuff in and my camel back wasnt any good because it was full. SO i got a bunch of napkins and got a plate full of brie cheese and wheat crackers to hold them in. Ha I got like 20 slices of cheese and somehow my pockets were big enough to not look so obvious. Ha i gladly paid and left.
I walked all the way to the next island Djurgarden hoping that the Vasa Museum would still be open because the guide book said it was open till 7 and it was only 530 ish. Nope after that 30 min walk it was only open until 6. Oh well I wouldnt have had enough time to enjoy it anyways. The other major attractions on the island were the amusement park Grona Lund which looked like a blast. Too expensive for me to enjoy on my own though. Skansen which was a huge outdoor musuem which was closing in an hour so I didnt do that either. I saw it kind of. Then I started off to the town. I was getting pretty tired by now and thought I should get back to the hostel for some rest so I stopped at the bus stop. I waited for the bus to come with a bunch of families who had just come from the amusement park. The driver tells me I have to buy a ticket at the machine, I cant buy a ticket on the bus, so he doesnt wait for me he takes off! Ha stupid system. Anyways it was 30 krones and that got me back to Skanstul. Transferring at Central station.
GOt back to the hostel and went on the net pretty much untill the end of the night. Went to bed around 130. Some chick was sleeping in my bed. They must have given her the wrong letter bed or something was messed up when I booked the room again. They never cleaned it neither so I kinda felt bad for her. Oh well the space below was free. Everyone was sleeping so I had to move all my stuff around at 130 with my freaking ipod light. Stupid hostels. haha night night

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb