Stockholm: Little Venice?


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
August 18th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We took a bus to Stockholm today and we were led by of course my favorite professor in this entire world. The man is hilarious. My favorite quote today was "You'll read in the news tomorrow, Man dressed as Boat hit by Bus." You don't need to understand the context. I don't know this great man's name sadly but I do know that everything was going wrong for him and our tour today. First of all we got to the Vassa Ship Museum and it was packed and we were late so he gave us a speed tour of the museum which houses a 300 yr old ship that sunk on its maiden voyage after 30 min. It is pretty massive. We then went to watch a video on how it was raised from the depths of the sea, which freaked me the hell out since i hate the deep sea, and it was in german with french subtitles so our whole group has no idea what was going on. i do know that the men cleaning the blackest black goop of the sea of the ship were not wearing gloves...and it made me queasy, but no one saw my point. go figure. we then took the bus to "the place" to see Stockholm. best view ever so they say. and when we came around the bend all we could see was a big, white cruise ship completely taking over the port and blocking the infamous view. But not all was lost. We took some pictures around the side of the boat and then we went to Old Town Stockholm and ate Kex bars while watching boaters struggle to start thier boat. We then walked the tourist choked streets and saw Native Americans playing Abba on flutes and a creepy man dressed as a moose. Stockholm is called Little Venice, which I think just because there is water and little streets is not a just name, and it seems to me like 5 different big cities thrown together. I thought Uppsala was big because my hometown is 3 times smaller than my university there but oh no it is like a village compared to Stockholm. After the rapidly filling streets we went a bullied the stone faced royal guards with thier camo and rifles ready to shoot anyone who steps in their zone. horrible job...Then we went home and I went
All Hands to Deck!All Hands to Deck!All Hands to Deck!

I could so be a deckhand
grocery shopping and I found out a funny thing about shopping carts. Here is a picture.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Rolling Ground BasketsRolling Ground Baskets
Rolling Ground Baskets

we walk our groceries like pets..


19th August 2007

WHAT???
Hannah!!??? I have to go to Sweden! Elevator parties? People dressed up as 'meece? mooses? a moose?' whatever. The shopping carts are reason enough to go there. Walking one of those rolling ground baskets around could keep me entertained and laughing for weeks! I am so glad you are having fun! I want to go there! Also, when I told my boss at work I was going to Uppsala, he screamed and said I had to see that ship, which I am going to guess is the one you just went to see that made you queasy just looking at it. Sounds fun. Anyway! I love you be safe!
21st August 2007

Walking our groceries....
Hannah, Thanks for including pics of your adventures. I love reading your blogs! take care! Can you give us your home address so we can send you snail mail/care packages.
29th August 2007

Awesome blog
This blog is awesome to read even tough i dont know you. I have been living in The states for 11 months, and it is so much fun to read about an american have the same kind of experience as i did when i moved of here. Going back home to Sweden in a month going to be awesome. Im only 20 and cant really go out party here in the US, i really missed the Swedish party's!! Well good luck to everything and i going to keep reading this well writen blog. Niclas

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb