Stockholm and Uppsala


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

CityscapeCityscapeCityscape

cloudy day
Short on time at this internet cafe so here's a synopsis...

Took the ferry across the sea from Turku to Stockholm right after the exhibition opening. I had a bunk to myself right next to the engine room under the car decks, but it only cost me 10 euro! Taking the ferry was a great move and I arrived in Stockholm just in time for a 7am breakfast! I spent three days in Sweden before moving on to Norway... highlights included the amazing Woodland Cemetery with chapel by Gunnar Asplund. I stayed two nights in a smaller town called Uppsala just north of Stockholm as it was the only hostel I could find in Sweden. It turned out to be a great place as I got to see some viking burial mounds at Gama Uppsala (Old Uppsala). I thought I would be in Stockholm only one day so I saw all I wanted in that one day.... ended up having one extra day so I read an entire book three chapters at a time, trying out every park and square in the city.... sooo relaxing!

After my three days I took a night train to Oslo, Norway.... (blog to follow shortly).


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Stockholm cycle pathsStockholm cycle paths
Stockholm cycle paths

safe for bikers, dangerous for pedestrians!
Sculpture park #1Sculpture park #1
Sculpture park #1

what is happening?
Gamla UppsalaGamla Uppsala
Gamla Uppsala

Viking burial mounds


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb