Stockholm


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
August 26th 2019
Published: August 26th 2019
Edit Blog Post

This was my last day in Sweden. Last night I took a photo of the view from my hotel window. (That’s the Stockholm City Hall on the right.) I started this morning by walking to City Hall where I intended to take a tour. That didn’t work out because of the large number of other tourists. All the slots for tours for the morning were already booked. Oh well. I enjoyed sitting in the courtyard and sipping my morning coffee. I spent the afternoon at the Nordic Museum which is devoted to five centuries of Swedish lifestyles. It was more interesting than it sounds! If Skansen (yesterday) was like Greenfield Village, then this museum is similar to a small-scale Henry Ford Museum. It displays Swedish house furnishings such as clocks, beds, chairs, toys, etc. But it also interprets what life was like in the past. For example there was an exhibit on dining room place settings and how they’ve changed over the centuries. I left the museum around 3:30 and around 4:30 I boarded a ship to take me to Tallinn, Estonia. As I write this, the ship is threading its way through the Swedish archipelago of islands and it is very scenic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb