Stockholm on the water & Gamla Stan


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 21st 2018
Published: June 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had planned to go on a 4 hour foodies walking tour today but when I checked my emails after breakfast I discovered it was cancelled due to illness. Disappointing as I can't go tomorrow because I am off to Malmö. I decided to walk down to the waterfront and booked myself on a Under the Bridges of Stockholm tour. This was a great way to hear all about Stockholm in pleasant surroundings whilst sitting back and enjoying the view. We travelled under 12 bridges and passed through two locks which connect the Baltic Sea with Lake Mälaran. The Lake is approx. a meter higher than the sea - hence the lock.

The Swede's are very proud of all their achievements and are happy to tell you all about them. They invented Skype, Bluetooth and Spotify amongst many other things. one of the highlights of the tour (for me) was seeing the building where Lisbeth Salander (the girl with the dragon tattoo) lived - and the buildings and lanes she ran through to escape. The scandi version, not the American one (of course!).

And in true Cathy style - on the boat I was sitting at a table with 3 other people, all of different nationalities. I went to open a bottle of water I had purchased and as soon as the lid was loosened it sprayed over all of them as well as me, my camera, the window, the roof of the boat...... I am sure you get the picture lol. I proceeded to apologise in every language I could think of whilst pulling tissues out of my bag and trying to dry everyone off. Classic Cath ?‍♀️

After the cruise finished, I was off to explore Gamla Stan (the old town). I had a very enjoyable couple of hours wandering the cobbled alleyways and streets taking photos. This afternoon the rain came but it was really only a drizzle for most of the time. I managed to get some nice photos without people in them (thanks to the rain and my patience haha).

Tonight I walked for a while trying to decide what I felt like for dinner. Loving the amount of daylight hours available at this time of year although you do lose track of time without the sun setting to remind you. I found a cute little Japanese restaurant and had the chef's selection of sushi followed by a tonkatsu ramen. We get spoilt in Australia with amazing ramen and unfortunately this one didn't live up to my expectations but never the less, it hit the spot. Given it was still raining and cold (not sure they will be having a great midsummer to celebrate this weekend) I decided to head back to the hotel and dry off. Shut the blinds at 10:30 so I could pretend it was nighttime.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb