A Lesson in Grocery Shopping


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Östergötland County » Linköping
August 22nd 2010
Published: August 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I'm on my own in Linkoping now as Aunt Swedish Berry departed yesterday for England. I was worried at first because I hadn't actually met any of my roommates at that point. Considering 8 people live in this corridor it seemed awfully quiet! Last night when I got home I met Uma who is from India. He told me where I could put my stuff in the kitchen and was very helpful about providing me with information about how things work around the house. Just as he was telling me everything Erik and Daniel came in. They are both from Sweden and are really funny about trying to teach me to speak the language. They correct me on my pronunciation and make me repeat words until I get them right. Last night I learned a pretty important one- Cheers! In swedish it's Krall (pronounced Krole). Needless to say we had a few drinks and their beer is not half bad here! I also had some shots of this licorice tasting stuff which I actually really enjoyed. We played a drunk game of chess which I sucked at and I convinced Daniel to join the chess team on campus! haha I also met Fanny, another of my roommates from Sweden. She is very nice as well!

In total there are eight of us living here - 5 guys and 3 girls including myself. Four of us are exchange students (China, India, France and Canada) and the other four are from various parts of Sweden. Every sunday we have one person clean the common areas (we each take a turn) and then we are supposed to have a social time around 8 with cookies. I'm told it's a traditional Swedish thing to give cookies. I think I like that!

Tonight I went to make tea. Yesterday I grocery shopped so I'm slowly getting used to making food here. Grocery shopping was tough because all the packages were in Swedish!! I picked up what I thought was milk, but when I went to go make tea today I poured a little first to make sure it was right and realized it was very thick. I thought it was either bad or that what I grabbed was not in fact milk. I asked Daniel later and he said what I bought is like the liquid yogurt stuff that you drink....ew. Thank god Daniel was kind enough to lend me normal milk. I have to say though my first thought was 'ew i cant drink the milk if it's some weird thick stuff here...how will I go a year without milk?' haha I'm so glad it was just my mistake. Looks like back to the grocery store tomorrow to try again. Maybe I'll take someone with me this time 😊

Advertisement



24th August 2010

Love the pics
Keep sending the pictures! They are great. It helps us to see how you are doing. Keep well.Happy shopping!!!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb