Fri Jan 27th - International Dinner!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Luleå
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday Jan. 27th

Had class from 1pm to 6pm JOY. On the upside i did get to sleep in! So after class went and met Isabel and Santi at the City Center. We needed to get some wine for the evenings festivities! Basically we decided to have an international dinner night.

So Isabel and Santi were going to make a spanish dish (a spanish omlet), Charlen a french salad, Jenifer (this is a very nice girl from Hong Kong) and her other friend would make a typical chinese dish (cola-chicken), Nikolas from sweden was going to bring a very traditional dish (Blue Pudding), and I volunteered to make dessert! (RICE KRISPIES!)

At the city center we picked up several bottles of wine to make Calemocho and also stopped at the coop in town which is a bit bigger. I picked up some NON jet-puff marshmallows 😞 tear, rice krispies and coco puffs. My plan was to make three batches of rice krispies, one regular, one with the coco puffs (which are my personal favorite), and the peanut butter ones with chocolate on top. So I also picked up some baking chocolate. Once i got home i started cooking asap.

Of course it is at this point that i realize we have no measuring utensils AT ALL in this apartment...sigh. So i improvised. I used a small coffee cup for a one cup measurer, and eyeballed the 3 TBS of butter (....mmmmm yummy butter from sweden that amazing and so much better than in the US!). I melted the marshmallows in the butter, poured em over the krispies and pounded them into some aluminum foil pans i got. WHOOT one batch done! Wash, rinse, repeat for the coco krispies. WHOOT second batch done! Now here comes the semi interesting batch...the peanut butter ones. So peanut butter here....well...no such luck at finding any Jiff....so i got what said Skippy on the outside....but seriously people this was NOT Skippy peanut butter. This stuff was pretty blehk. I think the problem here is that im use to fake peanut butter....this peanut butter literally tasted like JUST crushed peanuts...even grainy like it too...sigh where are all my chemical preservatives that make Jiff just taste so much better! not to mention the added perk of being artificially preserved from the inside out! But I went ahead and melted the pb in with the marshmallows and butter, added them to the krispies and pounded them in. Then i unwrapped the baking chocolate...see they DONT HAVE CHOCOLATE CHIPS!?!?!!?! wtf? So in the US baking chocolate is pretty nasty right...its waxy and gross. WOW the baking chocolate here is like a zillion times better than the godiva chocolate bar you buy in the US! YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! I melted that down with just a bit of butter and did a 50%!m(MISSING)ilk chocolate 50%!d(MISSING)ark chocolate mix. Then spread on the pb krispies and WHOOT third batch done! Just in the nik of time too because the dinner was scheduled at 7:30pm.

SO LETS TALK FOOD!

1) Santi and Isabel (SPAIN)- Spanish Omelet - this is basically a ton of eggs scrambled but its about 50% ration of egg and potatoes. The potatoes are sliced really thin and cooked just right. Amazingly enough you are suppose to cook this omelet about an hour before you want to eat it. There is also some onion and pepper in it as well. SO VERY TASTY! GOOD JOB!

2) Charlen (FRANCE)- French Salad - so i dont know if there was anything super de duper different about this salad, it was romain lettuce, corn, ham, onion, cucumber, and some oil and balsamic vinegar....but tasty none the less!

3) Jennifer and Friend (CHINA)- Cola Chicken - this was quite interesting. So you take chicken legs (actually they said you were suppose to use wings but they could only find legs) and boil them in water. Then you put them in a frying pan with garlic, ginger, and soy sauce and sauté them for about 30 min. Then you have another frying pan ready and put them in the second pan which is literally coke and boil them in the coke. Im not a fan of chicken legs but i must admit the taste is good. I think doing this with wings or even chicken breasts would be quite tasty!

4) Nikolas (SWEDEN) - Blue Pudding - this was quite.....different. So the "pudding" is actually more like bread, but the consistency of the bread is very very moist or similar to what i consider pound cake or banana bread. The bread is pretty much just pork blood....yup....thats what makes it blue. Then you serve it with a potato and cucumber slices. SO i tried it...two whole bites of it...and i couldnt really stomach it i must admit! BLEH. I can only describe the taste of the bread like dried blood. At first there is a mix of seasoning that hit your tongue...cinnamon, all spice, nutmeg....then the after taste pretty much tastes like dried blood. I cant quite understand the combo of eating this with a potato and cucumber......its a mystery to me lol!

5) Amy (USA) - Rice Krispies - so basically everyone was freaking blown away by my awesome krispie treats. None of them had had them before! They were like AMY WOW THIS IS AWESOME! The two girls from China asked for the recipe and if i would show them how to make them lol. Isabel and Santi were like WOW can you make these every week? And nikolas was pretty impressed too. Later on in the night several other people stopped by, two guys from germany, a guy from france, a guy from turkey, a guy from Latvia, and another guy from Italy....they were all impressed lol. To say the least they didnt last long! This was very funny to me beacuse seriously....rice krispie treats? they are like a no brainer in the US lol but seriously i cant convey their expressions as they bit into the yummy - gooey - awesomeness of their first rice krispie treat!

After dinner we had some Calemocho and the other began playing different drinking games. I had taught Santi and Isabel how to play Kings and this is quite possibly their favorite game ever now! But I took leave to facetime with my bestest friend Chalene! We talked for about two hours lol. Then I got to skype with my sista for a bit and say hello to the puppies and kitties!

I would like to take time right now and tell you just how much i get teased about my beloved Rexy-Roo. I talk a lot about my dog Rex....DUH he is like the best dog ever! So anyways everyone thinks im totally nuts! They are like wow amy you treat your dog like a human....and my response is simply that I treat him how he deserves to be treated! They laugh at me because for awhile they thought Rex was my boyfriend back home....and when they realized he was my dog they just died laughing and still give me a hard time about it! But seriously...Rex is amazing and I miss him terribly! He keeps me company all the time, encourages me to go on walks with him, appreciates my cooking, cleaning, and over abundance of love i give him., and in return he protects me and loves me unconditionally and has the right answer for my every mood! KISSES! Whatever people....my dog is way better :-) Mom please at this time call Rex to you and give him a big kiss for me! MWA!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb