Getting a little bit lost - Pilgrimstad to Sörbygärden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Jämtland County » Bräcke
July 5th 2018
Published: July 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I was starting to get into a nice walking cadence when it occurred to me that it had been a little while since I had last seen a marker. The little while that is the spacing between markers can vary considerably. In some places there were markers on every power pole along a stretch of road which offered no option but to keep going in any case. More often there were prominant markers at road and track junctions to confirm to keep going, or to turn onto a new path or road.

In any case, I turned to check, and spotted a road a few hundred metres back that I hadn't paid any attention to as I passed it. Sure enough, I had missed a turn onto a delightfully shaded section of road and track. The head net came out pretty quickly at the first bit of forest path, but didn't need to stay on for long.

By mid-morning, the path was on gravel or bitumen and stayed that way for the rest of the way. The St Olavsleden route stays to the north of Brunflo, but I needed to visit a supermarket and detoured into the village to do some shopping.

When I arrived at Sörbygärden, I was greeted by Christina with the news that in some earlier confusion about when I would arrive, she had no rooms left. She offered to let me stay in a cabin she had, but this wasn't normally used for visitors. I didn't feel like walking any more, so even this sounded like a good arrangement. So I got dinner, and my washing done, and repaired to my cabin for the night.

One of the cats on the property decided I needed company, and kept scratching and meowing at the door, which was rattling away in a 35 kph breeze. Someone came down to rescue the cat, I figured out how to stop the door rattling and found my ear plugs to keep the wind noise out. It all worked out, and by the morning the wind had eased and the cat completely ignored me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb