Miss Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

aaa

Mambo Tango Hostel's reception area - I love this place!!!
Geo: 43.3231, -1.98137

Leaving Barcelona ... so sad ... we had such a great time in this incredible city. Tri put it best - though there are many tourist sights here, it's the type of city where sometimes you feel like doing nothing more than sit around and have a coffee or beer, basking in the incredible energy and love of life that this city exudes. We hung around the hostel until check-out time, and grabbed our last cafe con leche in Barcelona.

The sadness over leaving Barcelona was tempered with excitement - we were off to San Sebastian, another incredible place that offers almost everything that is good about Spain. Not having much time beforehand, we grabbed lunch at the train station - Tri and I were quite impressed with the beautiful Spanish women walking around the station. We immediately made plans to one day return to Barcelona, and sit around the train station for the entire time.



The train system in Spain is contrary to the rest of Western Europe - in general, buses are much cheaper and faster, and it's almost impossible to link most cities by train. However, we ended up taking the train today even
ccc

Tri's been digging the cafes con leche here - but ... I think he looks a little TOO happy here ...
though it cost twice as much as the bus, since for once the train was faster than the bus, at 5.5 hours versus 8. It wasn't the most pleasant of rides, as I was situated next to the bathroom, which obviously had a problem and smelled terrible. It was almost funny to see people get on at subsequent stops, all with a look of disgust at the horrific scent. I was glad for the look of horror these people had, because I suspect the lady sitting next to me thought I was the source of the smell, as she kept giving me the odd dirty look. I also regretted not booking early like Tri, because I would have sat with him, and avoided this sewer smell.



I wanted to get off in Zaragoza instead of San Sebastian, as a particularly beautiful senorita got off the train there, and I had to fight hard to resist the urge to follow her off, dropping to my knees and proposing. But I couldn't do that, as I had another girl to take care of - sadly, her name was Tri 😞

San Sebastian - Tri couldn't stop laughing at me when we
ddd

Whether or not you understand Catalan or not, the message on this billboard in the metro is understandable by all.
got here, because I was obviously so elated to be back in one of my favourite cities in the world. Tri soon understood why - even just walking from the train station to the old town, you can see so many beautiful things. The modern Kursaal centre, the Baroque architecture, the river, the beach, the women ... it's an incredible place, and Tri was immediately smitten, commenting on how beautiful a place this is.



I kept making fun of Tri because before the trip, I told him that we would be arriving in San Sebastian on my birthday, so we were going to hit up the bars for some pintxos (Basque tapas) as soon as we got in. Several weeks before leaving on the trip, he told me he wasn't sure he would be up for it, since he'd probably be tired after our 21:30 arrival. I told him that I didn't care, that I'd go out myself, since having a birthday in Spain is such a great experience that I've been fortunate to have two years in a row. But like a good Spaniard, Tri has already gotten accustomed to the local schedule, so we had a
eee

Tortilla and salami Iberico bocadillos at the train station ... together, both cost the same amount as a hot entree at the cafeteria would, but probably tasted way better than any of the hot dishes. Spanish food can be deceiving ... it looks so good, but rarely is. The highlight of both sandwiches was the excellent crisp and chewy bread.
blast once more, bouncing from pintxo bar to pintxo bar, in the best type of pub crawl you could ever have.

Absolutely stuffed after so much excellent food, we wandered around to Playa Zurriola, the surfers beach, then back to the old town for a gelato, and then around Amara, one of the newer parts of San Sebastian. I can see Tri slowly falling in love with Spain, and also becoming a fan of Spanish women, though he readily admits they really aren't his type. On the way back to the hostel, we noticed one of THE most beautiful women we saw during our time together in Spain. Tri actually referred to her as Miss Spain, a bit of a funny name, but definitely fitting.

So who really is Miss Spain? In my mind, she's an abstract construct - the funny thing is that she doesn't necessarily have to be from Spain! Miss Spain is the girl that every guy dreams about, the girl that he thinks about non-stop, the girl that takes his breath away, whose voice makes him weak in the knees, whose smile he looks forward to seeing each and every day. Every guy has a Miss Spain,
fff

Train ride to San Sebastian - seeing these empty seats across from me, I thought of a story Rob told me of the most beautiful Spanish girl sitting across from him on a train ride. But sadly ... I had no such story to tell after this train ride :(
and every girl is a Miss Spain for some poor schmuck out there, a schmuck who was made that way because Miss Spain reduced him to a blathering fool who would do or say anything for her, no matter how stupid it may be. And Miss Spain from tonight? Well, let's just say that she would be Miss Spain for most of the male population on this planet.

So another year older, but not another year wiser ... perhaps this is finally the year I learn from mistakes and break my repeated cycles of stupidity and schuckdom. Somewhere out there, if Kelly, Sharan, and Yolanda are reading this, I know you are all laughing at me, because you three have collectively witnessed my stupidity in all its glory and know that for me, the old adage always holds true - that you can't teach an old dog new tricks. I can't wait until the next time we can all sit down over a cup of coffee and laugh our asses off once more!

I have been so incredibly lucky to have spent so many birthdays in so many incredible places during the past five years. But this year was even
ggg

Pintxos round #1: I can't remember what any of these were, but I remember them being good.
better, because I got to spend it with a good friend. And we can say that we saw Miss Spain tonight - we'll never forget that!

Late Night You-Tubing Moment: Miss Spain ... she's the kind of girl a schmuck would write a cheesy song for, and Miss Spain should never settle for her Mr. Schmuck until she finds a schmuck that would write that cheesy song for her! So for all the Miss Spains out there, Just The Way You Are, by Bruno Mars. BTW - the way the girl in the video smiles and brushes her hair behind her ear at the 0:50 and 1:45 mark are VERY Miss Spain. Sigh ...



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

hh
h

Pintxos round #2: The fried piece of fish wasn't the best, and the jamon was good like always.
ii
i

Pintxos round #3: This was supposed to be warmed up but I didn't realize it, so I think I ended up eating some semi-raw bacon. Mmm ... semi-raw bacon ...
kk
k

This place had some of the most innovative pintxos we saw in San Sebastian, many of them served lollipop style.
mm
m

Pintxos round #4: The egg thing on the left was pretty unique, with I think a chunk of potato cut in the shape of an egg and hollowed out slightly, and then filled with egg yolk and served atop some crisp crumbs of something good! The mushroom pintxo was great, topped with some yummy little seeds.
oo
o

Pintxos round #5: Some perfectly-grilled squid on the left, and a killer mango/foie gras/raspberry coulis pintxo.
nn
n

Tri, after one too many drinks.
qq
q

Some cafe con leche was just what the doctor ordered for Tri!
uu
u

No matter how many pintxos you've eaten, no matter how full you are ... there is ALWAYS room for gelato!
vv
v

San Sebastian's Cathedral. It was somewhere around here that we saw Miss Spain. Funny how such a religious experience was had just outside of this holy building!


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb