Back in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 28th 2006
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Barcelona 01..Barcelona 01..Barcelona 01..

view from Park Guell
It´s great to be back in this sunny country. It´s now half way in October and while the rest of Europe is slowly but surely cooling off for winter, the Spanish are still enjoying sunshine and temperatures in the high 20´s. Feelings of homesickness have subsided since re-entering Spain, and I have eased into the local vibe quite comfortably.
After a few uneventful days of pure sight-seeing in Barcelona, I headed off to Valencia. I loved this city for its laid pack vibe, although Spain's third largest in population, it did not have a 'big city' feel to it. The old town is interesting, though mostly Baroque-esk in Architecture.... not my cup of tea.

Barcelona, must revisit in better company and hit the clubs, something I sadly missed out on.

Valencia highlights, the River park & Calatrava's home town. I met up with my Italian friend Simon, and experienced much of Valencia through his eyes, those of a student living in this city. We rented bicycles and rode along the 12km long park, once a river bed.

Granada offers one of the most beautiful Islamic sights.... The Alhambra palace. Granada is also the rival Flamenco contester to Sevilla. I went to a dinner and Flamenco show with a Belgium girl called Yoka. Granada also has the great Tapas experience... You order a drink at one of the many bars in the city and you receive a tapa of your choice for FREE.... wicked! I met up with a few other tourists and went out for a night of wining and dining. I met the lovely Johanna from Perth and had some real nice chats with her over coffee.

In Madrid I met the two crazy Canadians, Mark and Ryan, with whom I shared a random night on the town drinking shots at a Spanish bar for Free.... yeah, Monday nights in Madrid!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sunday afternoons at the Plaza..Sunday afternoons at the Plaza..
Sunday afternoons at the Plaza..

..I don´t know why they´re holding hands! It was quite funny to watch though.
Casa Mila, Gaudi, 01Casa Mila, Gaudi, 01
Casa Mila, Gaudi, 01

...internal courtyard
Valencia 00Valencia 00
Valencia 00

Plaza´...can´t remember, just adjacent to Plaza Reina, with view of the Cathedral.
Valencia 01Valencia 01
Valencia 01

View from the ´river´park.... The park is my favorite place in Valencia. It´s 12km long and was once a river, which has since been diverted, as it kept changing its course and causing numerous floodings.
Valencia 02Valencia 02
Valencia 02

I explored the city Valencian style.
Valencia 03Valencia 03
Valencia 03

´Cuidad de las Artes y las Ciencias´, literally.. city of the arts and sciences. Here´s where you find a lot of Calatrava stuff.
Cuidad de las Artes y las Ciencias de Valencia, 04Cuidad de las Artes y las Ciencias de Valencia, 04
Cuidad de las Artes y las Ciencias de Valencia, 04

...by Calatrava. I think this is the Science Museum.
That´s me, Valencia 06That´s me, Valencia 06
That´s me, Valencia 06

...had to do it!
Valencia beach, 07Valencia beach, 07
Valencia beach, 07

Too good to believe, but sure thing.. weather was still good for the beach down here. I met up with Simon, my Italian friend who´s recently moved here, and his flatmates.


Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0956s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb