Camino 8. Subida al Cebreiro


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 24th 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ponferrada-Cebreiro


Detalle del artesonado mudéjarDetalle del artesonado mudéjarDetalle del artesonado mudéjar

Iglesia de San Francisco en Villafranca del Bierzo
See English text below

19 de enero 2008. Sábado

Cuando me levanto me encuentro al francés abarullado blasfemando delante de la puerta del albergue. Hace ya rato que quería salir, pero la puerta no la abren hasta las 8.
"Brrrruuubrrruuu!!!brruuuubrruuu!!!"- es lo que básicamente dice todo el tiempo sin parar.
A este curioso personaje ya le conocía de antes, pues en el albergue de Burgos ya se ha quedado varias veces. Lleva haciendo muchas veces el camino de Santiago y aún no me ha quedado claro sí es que lo hace porque no tiene casa o porque le gusta realmente mucho (o ambas cosas).
Abarulladamente me ennumera todos los albergues en los que no hay que pagar (es decir, casi ninguno desde aquí hasta Santiago), los albergues que están cerrados en Santiago y bla bla bla y muchas cosas más.

Al rato ya aparecen el resto de los peregrinos hospedados y cada uno desayunamos lo que tenemos.
El matrimonio palentino me comenta que como ya se conocen el camino muy bien y saben perfectamente que la salida de Ponferrada es larga y fea, han quedado con el taxista que les acercó al albergue ayer(¡¡¿¿¿!!!???) y les llevará a Cacabelos, casi 20 kilómetros después.

Bueno, al fin y al cabo, por lo menos muchos de los peregrinos que hacen el camino de Santiago a lo largo del año toman regularmente algún tipo de transporte motorizado en su peregrinación. Son los llamados turigrinos: una manera muy poco ortodoxa de hacer el camino y por muchos considerada no llega a ser considerada una peregrinación en absoluto (entre ellos yo), si no turismo barato.
Los turigrinos es el tema de conversación preferido de muchos hospitaleros, especialmente los "profesionales", como seguro es el caso de nuestro amigo el hospitalero con cara de batracio de Ponferrada. Incluso se les suele hinchar la vena del cuello.
Los turigrinos sería un tema muy interesante para hacer una tesis doctoral, pero la verdad que yo por lo menos, estoy hasta las mísmisimas pelotas de oír hablar de este temita tan recurrente. Para los "militantes" del camino hablar de esto es tan normal como hablar del tiempo en un ascensor.

Sale del albergue primero el francés, luego el italiano, a continuación la inglesa y después yo. Cuando estoy fuera preparando las alforjas oigo que el marido palentino está hablando con el hospitalero dentro. No entiendo lo
Ponferrada Ponferrada Ponferrada

Rehostias!! ¡¡Que pintas!! ¡Y todo el camino así! Foto hecha por el parmesano
que dicen, pero la conversación va subiendo de tono hasta que sale el palentino con la mochila puesta y gritando a los cuatro vientos: "¡¡¡Pero será posible!!!¡¡¡Pero tendrá el valor de decirme eso!!!"
Sospecho que estaban hablando del taxi. Aunque más que probablemente fuera el hospitalero y no el marido el que tuviera razón, es el marido palentino el que me causa más simpatía, pues ya sé que no soy el único que piensa que el de la cara de sapo es gilipollas.

Nada más pasar el puente sobre el río Sil nos juntamos la inglesa, el italiano y yo. Se nos acerca un hombre y nos indica el camino correcto que debemos seguir para ir directos hasta Camponarraya y no dar una vuelta de campeonato por todo lo de endesa.

Larga es la salida de Ponferrada, aunque sea la salida corta la que estoy pedaleando. Larga y fea. Afortunadamente rápida en bicicleta. El cielo está despejado y poco a poco el sol comienza a calentarme. No me quito el anorak, pues cuando se pasa por la sombra aún hace bastante frío.
Camponarraya es la última población unida a Ponferrada, y después ya se empieza a ver el campo berciano, los viñedos. Hasta Villafranca del Bierzo todo el paisaje son colinas llenas de viñas peladas y montes entre verdes y marrones por invierno.
Sobre todo por los viñas, me recuerda el Bierzo a las colinas de le Langhe. Era otoño y mi primer viajecillo en bicicleta. Le Langhe me resultó una zona más bonita.
Ahora tengo las piernas más fuertes, y parece que me cuesta menos pedalear que hace dos años. Hoy emprenderé la subida más dura de todo el camino, la subida al Cebreiro, y me siento preparado.

Antes de llegar al puerto del Cebreiro se pasa por Villafranca del Bierzo, la que se supone villa más bonita de toda la región. Había oído varias veces en boca de varios peregrino que Villafranca era un pueblo precioso, e incluso ayer en el albergue de Ponferrada, el hospitalero gilipollas se lo comentaba a la inglesa. Le dijo que bien merecía la pena pararse en este pueblo, que estaba todo perfectamente conservado y que era preciosísimo. Que en una de sus calles, la calle del Agua, parecía que no había pasado el tiempo desde el siglo XIX, con sus viejas casas, viejas vestidas de viejas y botillos y pimientos secos que colgaban de las ventanas.
Sí que es cierto que Villafranca me parece un pueblo bonito, pero lo dicho arriba no dejan de ser exageraciones.
Villafranca tiene un castillo de los condes de Peña Ramiro, que no está en ruinas, una iglesia de San Francisco con un estupendo artesonado mudéjar, una iglesia románica de Santiago y hasta una colegiata, que aunque no espectacular, es una colegiata.
La calle del agua sí que es una calle con encanto, pero no para tanto. Por lo menos no hay domingueros. Es una calle que cuanto más se recorre más gusta y más se quiere. Yo no he tenido tiempo ni para que siquiera me guste mucho. Sólo la recorro una vez a veces andando y a veces montado en la bicicleta.

Se me ha antojado probar el botillo, que gastronómicamente es lo más típico de aquí. Sí que me apetece comer una guarrindongada de cerdo en estos momentos. Entro en el bar que he visto abierto y me dicen que no tienen botillo. Lógico que no tengan botillo. Descubro que el botillo no es como como me pensaba yo un chorizo, si no algo que se come en un puchero con el que si no se tiene cuidado uno puede reventar y ni tan siquiera es mediodía.
Me tomo un mosto solo, y aunque me tienta un bizcocho casero mostrado en la barra, no lo pruebo. Al verlo se me ha abierto el apetito, y después de salir del bar me pongo tibio a comer barritas de muesli con alto poder calórico.

De aquí hasta el puerto la carretera va ascendiendo muy lentamente. De hecho no se nota que asciende y avanzo una barbaridad en poco tiempo. Paso por el pueblo de Pereje, dónde me moja un niño con cara de tonto que estaba jugando con una manguerita. Cruzo no sé las veces sobre el río Valcarce, siempre con el ruido del pesado tráfico de la autovía, en todo momento paralela a la carretera. Paro en una gasolinera y me termino las barritas de muesli.
Por Ambasmestas ya se ven los viaductos de la autovía, que están altísimos. Sé que tengo que subir a esa altura, y más allá hasta el Cebreiro y me siento fuerte ante este reto.
Después de Ruitelán ya empieza la cuesta de verdad, y el paisaje cambia. Ya no se está tan metido en el valle, y las vistas de los montes empiezan a ser más amplias y panorámicas. Al poco de comenzar el puerto, por Ferrerías, las vistas son realmente bonitas.
Me tengo que quitar más ropa de la que ya me había quitado. El sol aprieta todo lo que el mes de enero le permite, y con el esfuerzo de la ascensión, hace que me quede en camiseta, como si fuera un día glorioso de primavera. He alcanzado un ritmo muy bueno de subida, y voy subiendo y subiendo hasta que paro.
En el último par de kilómetros antes de entrar en la provincia de Lugo parece que la cuesta está más empinada, o que me pesan más las alforjas, o que estoy ya un poco desgastado, o todo junto a la vez. Paro de vez en cuando para recuperar el resuello sudando como un cerdo entre el sol y el alquitrán. Y al final de la cuesta un cartel verde que dice: COMUNIDADE DE GALICIA. PROVINCIA DE LUGO. 😊

Galicia me recibe con una furgoneta blanca. El conductor y acompañantes se asoman por las ventanillas y gritan. "¡¡Vamos, que ya estás!!"
Pero a dónde he llegado es a Pedrafita do Cebreiro, no al Cebreiro. Aún quedan otros 200 metros de desnivel para salvar y se me hacen duros aunque haya descansado un rato en Pedrafita y me haya comido casi medio kilo de galletas.

La subida al Cebreiro sólo se ve interrumpida por un conductor que me para para que le indique dónde está no sé qué leches y también paro de vez en cuando para hacer fotos y descansar un poquito.

La llegada por fin al pueblo de O Cebreiro me resulta algo inquietante: no sabía que era un pueblo de domingueros. No es que haya muchos, pero al ser el pueblo tan pequeño, se hacen muy presentes.
O Cebreiro es uno de los lugares más míticos del camino, la puerta de Galicia y uno de los primeros lugares que acogió peregrinos. En Cebreiro es todo de piedra. Las calles, sus pocas casas, sus pallozas redondas de origen celta cubiertas con tejado de paja y su pequeña iglesia de Santa María la Real, donde un día el pan y vino se conviertieron en carne y sangre ante la vista de un poco piadoso monje y un labrador muerto de hambre, al que me imagino que el milagro le causara gran disgusto.

En Cebreiro hay más bares que vecinos y los llenan los vecinos de las aldeas cercanas, algún dominguero, y en temporada alta (abril-octubre), los peregrinos.
Cuando llego al albergue no hay ningún peregrino más. De hospitalera esta Patrizia, una lombarda de voz grave con la que la naturaleza no ha sido demasiado generosa y media cara paralizada.
Poco después llega desde Villafranca una coreana algo ajena al resto del mundo y desde Vega de Valcarce tres amigos de Salamanca.

Entre la ducha y la cena subo hasta la cruz, en una colina justo encima del pueblo. Las vistas son más que estupendas. El cielo está claro y empieza a atardecer. Se ven todos los Ancares, la sierra do Courel y los montes bercianos si se mira hacia el este.
Y así me paso un rato hasta algo después de que se esconde el sol.

De vuelta en el albergue está sólo la coreana, que básicamente está a su bola. Más tarde ceno, y luego, Patrizia, a la que he caído simpático, viene y charla conmigo y me cuenta cosas.
Ella vive cerca de Lecco y cerca de Varenna, en el lago de Como. Vive en un apartamento y le gusta mucho cantar. Como tiene una voz muy ronca y muy fuerte no puede cantar en casa porque molesta a los vecinos. Entonces ella monta en una barquita e va remando hasta el medio del lago para así poder cantar sin disturbar a nadie y desahogarse tranquilamente a cientos de decibelios. También le gusta ir a los Alpes a caminar, a subir y a bajar. Pero en los Alpes, que son de lo más bonito que hay, tiene que cuidar de sus pasos para no despeñarse. No puede desconectar su mente tranquilamente y encontrarse con Dios.
Por eso vino al camino, y por eso le gustó. Porque se encuentra con ella misma y con el "creatore". Es por tanto semimística, además de tener profundas convicciones religiosas, cosa que no le impide practicar el amor libre siempre que puede.
Disfruta mucho, me dice, el camino por Galicia, pues hay muchos bosques habitados por simpáticas ardillas que salen siempre a saludarla. Las invita a comer avellanas, pero no dejan que les saque fotografías.
Según su propia teoría, las ardillas bajan de sus árboles para saludarla sólo a ella, así que cuanda saca la cámara se esconden, pues no quieren que sus amigos la vean. "¡Sólo queremos compartir este momento contigo, con nadie más!" parece que le dicen.

Me regala una magdalena, que me como después de cenar una sopa de sobre.
En el albergue nos hemos quedado solos la coreana y yo. Patrizia y los muchachos de Salamanca se han ido a un bar en el que tocan la gaita (que pena no haberme enterado). Tarde regresan. Los salmantinos riéndose y tirandose pedos y Patrizia se trae compañía autóctona para no quedarse sola durante esta larga y fría noche de invierno.









19th january 2008. Saturday

When I get up I find the fast speaking french swearing next to the albergue doors. It´s been a long time since he wanted to leave, but the door aren´t open until 8.
"Bbrrrrruuuuubbbbrrrrrruuuuuu!!!" he says basically all the time without taking any second of rest to his tongue.
I met this curious person some time before, for in the albergue of Burgos he had already stayed a couple of times. He has done a lot of times the camino and I´m not sure if he is a homeless or if he really likes it (or both).
One by one he tells me all the names of the places where there are donation albergues for pilgrims (hardly any), and the he speaks about the albergues in Santiago and bla bla bla. He has only his tongue in his mouth, but it seems as he had something else for he is very hard to understand.

In a while the rest of the pilgrims who have spent the night in the place show up. Each pilgrim we eat what we have each.
The married couple from Palencia tell me that they know perfectly well the camino out of Ponferrada and that is long and nasty along the new neighbourhoods and industry areas. They are meeting in some minutes the taxi driver that drove them yesterday to the albergue. ¡¡¡¿¿¿!!!???. Ain´t say nothing. They will be taken to Cacabelos, 20 kilometers after.

Well, we could say that at least half of the pilgrims doing the camino de Santiago take some kind of motor transportation on regular basis. They are called tourigrims, a little orthodox manner of doing the camino. Many considered that tourigrims don´t do a pilgrimation at all ( I am among them), just cheap tourism.
Tourigrims is a very loved subject of conversation for the hospitaleros, specially for the "professional" ones. And this should be also correspond to our friend the batrachian hospitalero of Ponferrada. They get their neck veins swelled when talking on the subject.
Tourigrims would be very interesting to write a thesis about, but I feel quite fed up. For the "militants" of the camino, tourigrims is always the same recurrent subject of conversation, as for others is the weather. If you don´t know what to chat about, you always end up in tourigrims.

The first one in going out of the albergue is the Frenchman, then the Italian, afterwards the half English woman and finally it´s my turn.
While I am out getting my saddlebags ready, I can hear that the husband from Palencia is having some conversation with the hospitalero. I can´t understand the words, but they are speaking progressively louder until the husband bursts out shouting: "But how can it be!?!? But how he dare to say that to me!?!?"
Altough I suspect that the reason of the argue is the taking of a taxi, and probably the husband was not right, I feel happy for I am not the only one that the hospitalero is an asshole.

Right after passing the bridge over the river Sil, the italian, the half english lady and me get together. An old man come to us and show us the good way to go out of Ponferrada. It seems that if the arrows are followed, it takes a long way and a good deal of time to get to Componarraya, the next village.

It doen´t matter the short exit out of town is taken, it´s very long and unpleasant anyway, for walkers I mean. For cyclers it´s ok. You go just straight and after some easy flat kilometers you are already in Camponarraya.
The sky is cloudless and the sun starts heating softly first and strenghts little by little as going up. I still have the anorak on me, for in the shadows is quite cold.
Camponarraya is the last village or "neighbourhood" linked to Ponferrada. Afterwards it´s the countryside, the vineyards.
Until Villafranca the landscape is basically composed of little rounded hills packed up with leaveless vines and half green half brown mountains in the backround.
Because of the vineyards this region
Iglesia de SantiagoIglesia de SantiagoIglesia de Santiago

En Villafranca
reminds me of the Langhe hills in Piedmont. It was autumn and my first trip on a bycicle, more than two years ago. Now, my legs feel stronger and the pedalling goes always easier.

Some 20 kilometers before getting to the almost mythic slope that takes the pilgrim to Cebreiro, you go through Villafranca del Bierzo, supposed to be the nicest village in el Bierzo. Actually I had already heard some pilgrims say that Villafranca was an extremely nice village and yesterday this was confirmed to me by my grasping of some parts of the conversations between the toad hospitalero and the half English woman. He told her that she should stay in this village, perfectly preserved and full of beauty, that in one of its streets, the so called calle del agua, looked like it did a couple of centuries ago, with old houses, old women clothed like old women and botillos and dried peppers hanging out from the windows and balconies.
Villafranca del Bierzo is truly a beautiful village, but what the others told about it were clearly exaggerations.
Villafranca has a castle from the counts of Peña Ramiro, and it´s not bunch of ruins. There is also a San Francisco church with a moor wood ceiling, a Saint James romanesque church, and a collegiate church, not being wonderful, but still a very big church.
The calle del agua(=street of the water) is a charming street, but not a very charming street. At least it´s empty and no daytrippers in sight. I feel that this is a place that it is liked and loved more and more the more and more times you go through it. I only cycle and walk along the street once.

I want to try botillo, the most typical dish of the region. I see an open bar and I go in and ask. They don´t have botillo. Well it´s normal that they don´t have it. I thought that the botillo was some kind of sausage or chorizo, but it is eaten in a very strong stew and it is not even midday.
I drink must and once I am out the bar I eat several muesli bars full of calories and I cycle on.

From here to the slope of Cebreiro the road goes up very slightly, almost flat and without any wind, the kilometers pass fast. I leave behind the village of Pereje, where a child wearing glasses waters me with a hose ("You, little bastard!!"). I cross several times over the Valcarce river and always in the backround, the murmur of the heavy traffic up in the motorway, always pararell in the valley. I stop at a petrol station and eat more muesli bars.
In Ambasmestas is where I see for the first time the high viaduct of the motorway. They seem so high, and I know I have to climb up its height and even higher. Luckily, I feel ready for the challenge, the highest and steepest slope in the camino. Well, it is not that great deal, after all.
After Ruitelán it´s when steepens, and the landscape changes. Well, not the landscape indeed but my point of view. I start going up, get out from the river and the bottom of the valley and it takes a different perpestive, the views broader and more panoramic. Around the hamlet of Ferrerias the landscape is already awesome.
I have to take out the clothes I hadn´t taken out yet: the sun is heating all the month of january lets it, and this added to the effort of the
Iglesia de San FranciscoIglesia de San FranciscoIglesia de San Francisco

en Villafranca del Bierzo
climbing makes me wear only a T-shirt, as it were a glorious day of spring.
My pace in the pedalling is good, I cross some other cycles in the middle of their descent ("you can do it!!!") and I feel strong until I stop. The last two kilometers are harder. I don´t know if it is that I start to be tired, ot the road steeper making my saddlebags heavier, or both. I have to stop three times to recover my breath and I sweat like a pig between the sun and the tarmac. And finally, when the road flatens a green sign greets me: COMUNIDADE DE GALICIA. PROVINCIA DE LUGO😊

Galicia wellcomes me with a white van whose driver and copilots get their heads out of the windows and shout at me. "You are already there!!!!"
Where I have arrived it´s Pedrafita do Cebreiro, it´s not the Cebreiro. I have still 200 meters to climb. Shit! I take first a rest in Pedrafita and eat many cookies.

The effort of the climbing is only stopped by some driver who asks me for directions in the middle of the slope and by me taking pictures (and a short rest also)

The arrival to the hamlet of O Cebreiro has something of disturbing. I didn´t know it was a typical place for daytrippers. There are not many, but as Cebreiro is such a small village, they are in every corner.
O Cebreiro is one of the most mythical villages along the Camino, the entry of Galicia and one of the first place in giving shelter to the pilgrims.
In Cebreiro everything is in stone: the streets, the few houses, the round pallozas of celtic origin with straw roof and the small church of Santa María la Real where one day the wine and the bread transformed in blood and flesh before a little pious monk and a farmer dying for food.

In Cebreiro there are more bars than villagers, so they are packed up with people from the neighbour hamlets, some daytripper and I guess, pilgrims in the pilgrims high season, from april to midoctober.
I am the first pilgrim in entering into the brand new albergue. The hospitalera is Patrizia, from Lombardy. She has got a very deep strong voice. We could say that nature has not been extremely generous with her physics and she also
Ventana de alabastroVentana de alabastroVentana de alabastro

aún en la iglesia de San Francisco
has half of her face paralysed.
Soon after a corean girl who seems not care about all that sorround her arrives walking from Villafranca, and from Vega de Valcarce, three friends from Salamanca.

After the shower and before the dinner I spend my time at the cross in the top of the hill over Cebreiro. The views are wonderful and the sun starts to set. The whole of the mountains of Ancares can be seen, as well as the Courel range and the mountains of El Bierzo when looking at the east.
And I sit there for a while, and a while after the sun sets.

Back in the albergue the corean is the only person in sight. She is basically doing her things.
I have dinner, and when the corean goes to the dormitory, Patrizia shows up and wants to chat with me a little for I looked like a nice person to her. She is happy that I can fully understand her.
She lives close to Lecco and close to Varenna, on the Como lake shore. She lives in an appartment and she likes to sing a lot. As she has such a strong and deep voice she can´t sing at home, for she would bother the neighbours. She gets on a boat instead and rows to the middle of the lake where she can sing freely and relieve herself loudly. She also likes to hike in the Alps, and go uphill and downhill. But the Alps, ones of the most beautiful mountains of them all, she has to watch her steps not to fall down the cliffs and therefore her mind can´t go free and meet with god.
And that is why she came to the Camino and she liked it, for she can always find herself alone with the creator. I assume she is at leat semimystic and with deep religious convictions, but that let her to pratice free love always she has the opportunity.
She enjoys a lot, she tells me, the camino in Galicia, for there are a lot of forests and they are inhabited by lovely squirrels that greet her always she walks by. She gives them nuts, but has never been able to take a picture of them.
According to her own theory, the squirrels go down the trees with the only purpose of saying her hello. So, when they see the camera, they flee, for they don´t want to be seen by her friend, only by her.
"We only want to share this moment with you and with nobody else"-they always tell her.

She gives me a piece of sponge cake that I eat after a precooked soup.
When I go to bed the corean girl and I are the only two living creatures in the albergue. The friends form Salamanca and Patrizia have gone to a bar where somebody is playing the pipe (If I would have known...).
They arrive late. The friends laughing and farting, and Patricia brings with her a local man to keep her company during this long and cold winter night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 39


Advertisement

Calle del aguaCalle del agua
Calle del agua

en Villafranca
Viaductos cerca de RuitelánViaductos cerca de Ruitelán
Viaductos cerca de Ruitelán

Hasta allá por lo menos hay que subir


13th August 2009

Hola, me gustaria saber si hay bus o taxi de poncebrada a ocebreiro y si alguien kiere compatir. Salimos el 15de agosro 2009.xao, un saludo

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb