Malaga: the beginning


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
February 8th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My mom and I arrived here on February 2nd, after a long adventure traveling. We flew from Boston to Washington DC, then to Madrid and eventually Malaga. Once we first arrived at our hotel in the city, we were told the pipes had exploded in our room and we were to be staying in a hotel across the street: first setback. Once we arrived however, we were pleased to find it was a very modern room with a beautiful view, see the pictures I have uploaded. There was a pool on top of the hotel, but the weather is only 50-70 degrees everyday. You would think it was snowing and negative temperature by the way the Spaniard dress here during the day. Mom and I looked very out of place and did not pack correctly. Our first opinion of Malaga was it was beautiful. There was a Carnaval that weekend, which is very similar to Halloween at home, but with a gigantic parade and more of a family atmosphere.
Once we got settled into our hotel and tried to figure out somewhere to eat, we realized that Spain is very different then home. People normally eat dinner around 9 or 10 PM, and a large lunch around 3 in the afternoon. From 3-5 PM, no stores are open for a siesta, a nap basically. Some other differences are that all temperature is in C, all weight is in Kg, all distances in Km and the time is in army time, not to mention a 6 hour difference. Also, the most popular thing to stay in the spanish vocabulary is "manana." This basically means, I will do it when i feel like it, tomorrow, maybe. A very different lifestyle then home.
My mom and I figured this out when we tried to organize a place for me to stay until February 18, which is when I could move into my apartment/dorm. We eventually found a place closer to the Campus for a week, which was very nice because it was close to some people I met. Once my mom left, it all sank in that I was in Spain until June. It hit me kind of hard but keeping myself busy is the best thing for me right now. Every day gets better but I have a couple bad days here and there.
The first weekend my mom left my friend Kat, from England, and I went out for dinner and around town. There was a parade going on the city, carrying Jesus to the cross. I have submitted it here. The next day we went to another Carnaval, festival in Cadiz, Spain. It was a four hour bus ride to the 3rd largest Carnaval in the world. It was absolutely insane, people in Spain really do party way harder then the United States, sorry folks. There were crazy costumes, great performances and plenty of people watching. My friend Jackie from Roanoke was there, along with another boy from college, Andrew. They are studying in Seville for the semester. It was great to see someone familiar! I have posted some pictures and videos from that experience as well.
I am taking a language class in the city right now, four hours a day from 3:30-7:30. It is helping me very much and I am meeting people from all over the world, which is great. Classes at the university start on February 25th. Classes here i guess are very different then the United States. No one actually goes to class unless it is needed. I probably wont be able to get used to that considering if I don't go, I will never learn. Especially because it is in Spanish! Speaking of which, my language is getting better. It helped alot in the first place I lived because my roommates, all 3 from Spain, were dedicated to helping me improve, and I with their english. The girls were very nice.
Well, check out the pictures, and will post about new adventures soon. Hope all is well in the USA!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Comepizza!Comepizza!
Comepizza!

eat pizza, a restaurant


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb