Camino, Barcelona, Thanksgiving...etc


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
November 26th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry it has been so long since my last post. So much has happened in the month past..I'll try to recall all that I have done:
I did the Camino de Santiago, which was really fun. I did not get any blisters on the 60km hike but I had some bruised heels for a few days afterward. It was great to get out of the city and breathe in the fresh clean air of the great outdoors. We had beautiful weather everyday, and I got to see many farms and the countryside of northern Spain. (the Galicia region)
Two wknds ago I went to Barcelona with my program and we went into a history museum-which was really cool-we got to see a piece of the roman history and what has been uncovered under the city from centuries ago when romans occupied the city. In Barcelona we also went to Sagrada Familia and Parque Guell, the cathedral and parque engineered by Gaudi.
Thanksgiving was a crazy event. There were at least 100 of us at a restaurant eating the fixins. We had turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, cranberry sauce, stuffing and vino. It was fun and a nice gesture by our directors, but couldn't beat my mama's home cooking. We had a photo contest and sang some Christmas carols with a gal who had a guitar. I had a good time with my friends at dinner, and did receive a call from some of my family at 7am the next morning so that made my day!
This last week we went on a field trip to a Turron factory, it is a specialty candy from Alicante, very popular in Spain during Christmas. It is a nougat type candy often containing almonds and can be made with chocolate which is my fav!
I also went to the Mercadillo on Thanksgiving..which is a big outdoor market close to Alicante's Plaza de Toros. It has become a Thursday tradition for me. I stop there on my way home from school and browse the deals..helping my friends shop or looking for my next pair of 10 euro boots or 40 centimo buttons. It is one of my favorite things about the city..and it goes on Thursdays and Saturdays.
Also if you come to Alicante you must try churros and chocolate! They are delicious...arriving piping hot at your table you douse them heavily with sugar and them dip them into a cup of hot chocolate sauce...YUM!

The weather here has definitely turned and it feels like winter. It is much colder here than I thought it would be and I am glad I brought so many coats, mittens and beanies. I have purchased tons of scarves here and they help to keep out the wind : ) Everything has been going good in the homestay..I love my mom here she is so sweet and cariñosa! It makes it a lil easier to be away from home during the holidays. But I still miss y'all and will be excited to see my family and any friends who want to come visit!

In the coming weeks and weekends I am hoping to do a lil Christmas shopping, hopefully do a lil baking, go to Madrid with some friends for a weekend, possibly catch a futbol game??! This wknd I am going to volunteer with some high schoolers and grade schoolers, playing games with them and speaking english.
For Christmas I am going to visit Kevin, Berit and family in Norway! I just got my ticket a wk ago and I am excited to spend the holiday with some of my family!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

 in front of the Sagrada Familia in front of the Sagrada Familia
in front of the Sagrada Familia

I look like you mom : )


28th November 2007

There you are again!
I was wondering how our little Amy was doing! It looks like you're having so much fun. I'm so jealous! :)
14th January 2008

Beka I miss you!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb