Tenerife


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
November 17th 2004
Published: November 17th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I´m on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean! Finally I got to my final destination...well almost final since I will be finishing my trip in Barcelona... But, it´s funny cause this place seems to be the final destination for some people here...as mean as this sounds, it is absolutely unbelievable to see so many old people in one place. There are old married couples walking around everywhere and people here joke around by saying that they come here to die. At first I wanted to punish the people who had told me that I should come here (like Eddy for example) who I think had a great time here, but I found out that it wasn´t like this in the summer...the old people who are mostly Germans come here for the winter..they´re like birds, they migrate here and stay for a few months... The most terrible outcome of this is that the place is too touristy, everything is catered to tourists. Everything is in German and English, there´s even a German channel on TV which my roomate showed me yesterday.
Minus all this the island is beautiful so I try as hard as I can to block out all this tourist crap and enjoy the weather. It´s springy here now and I even went to the beach yesterday. The beach is a 10 minute walk from my apartment and the water was a little warmer than the water during the summer in New York. However, compared to the water in my apartment it was hot because there is no hot water in my apartment for 2 days and the water is freezing...it´s a test of endurance. But, I´m so used to not having normal showers here in Spain that I´m beginning not to care. I went to the beach with my roomates and we had a nice time, the sand was a cool black color and the waves were pretty big. There are still more beaches to check out. I especially want to go check out the beach with the sand from the Sahara.
I haven´t gone to see Mount Teide yet which is the biggest peak in Spain, but I see it everyday from the window in my room. The view from my room is awesome. To the left is Mount Teide and it´s pretty cute 😉 and to the right is the center of Puerto de La Cruz with a view of the ocean. Nothing beats waking up and seeing the ocean and going to sleep looking at the mountains with lights all over it and the volcano above it all.
I haven´t done anything exciting yet because I´m waiting for my sister and Irene to show up and Alla told me not to do anything before they arrive. So until sunday I shall do nothing (of course that means that I will but I will not tell anyone about it).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb