5 days in...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My first check in! I have not found a computer until today, well except when I was killling time in France waiting for my backpack to arrive. It got lost in Chicago and followed me to Bayonne, 4 days later! Oh I was so tired of the clothes I was wearing that they got tossed when my pack finaly did arrive!

Sunday April 29 at 6:45 am I started out on El Camino from St Jean Peid de Port. Holy Crap! The first day is 30 kilometers, up the Pyreneese Mountains, it took me almost 8 hours, including a lunch break, to reach the town of Roncesvalles. I have no idea what to say except that I felt like I had been beaten with sticks, and wanted to lay down. Luckliy I feel in with a group of Irsih pilgims and they insisted I join them for beers since I did all the negotiating in Spanish. I ended up drunk and stumbling tired. I barely found the energy to put Zheng gu Shui on my legs before passing into a dead sleep!

Since then it has been days of everything and nothing I expected. The path is so
Killing time in BiarritzKilling time in BiarritzKilling time in Biarritz

I waited four days for my backpack so I had to do something!
beautiful and the colors are amazing. Everyone is so freindly and no matter where they come from or what languages they speak we all manage to communicate. Im in the town of Estella, almost to the Spanish state of Rioja (oh yeah! Good Wine!), but still in Navvarra.

My plans for Italy are not fully settled, but it is preety sure Im going to be in the Italian state of Molise for July and August. Im also thinking about going to Ireland on my way home to stop in and visit my Irish freinds in Dublin!

Buen Camino!
Ginger


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Setting out!Setting out!
Setting out!

I was so excited....little did I know the torture I would endure that day!
First water fountFirst water fount
First water fount

This was only about 2 hours of uphill, there was so much more....
Lunch at the top of the Mountain!Lunch at the top of the Mountain!
Lunch at the top of the Mountain!

It was so cold, but at least we could see, apparently 2 days later it was snowing, and someone wandered off the path and died of exposure!


3rd May 2007

Sláinte!
Awesome!!! Glad you've on your way and hope you're having some good wine! Hi to the Irish! Miss you!
3rd May 2007

sounds like fun!
Hey Ginger! sounds like you're having a blast! I sad you couldn't come to the wedding--it was perfect! Ben and I spent the next week galavantly around las vegas and to say the least, this week back hasn't been fun. I decided that I don't like to work, but I doubt there's very many jobs out there for doctors that don't like to work.... Anyways, I look forward to getting more bogs from you, and I'll be sure to send some pictures from the wedding your way if you are checking your hotmail account! If you're using something else, also give me that one--my email is queensunrae@gmail.com in case you don't have it saved anywhere.... Happy travels! I'll be praying for traveling mercies and for safe and fun passage for you. ~amber berarducci-stephens
4th May 2007

wow!
wow!sounds like your off to a good start!sorry it took so long for your bag to catch up to you!!!! hope everything else is going well for you!!! don't forget the pics for us!!!!!! not much happening here. just working 18 hours a day for me. i'm exhausted!!! take care!!!
5th May 2007

It's Ginger!
Hi you! Miss you, miss you! :) You're still alive, that's a good sign, ha ha! Can't wait to hear more in your blog.. take care of yourself, ya? So glad to hear you have come across nothing but nice, friendly, accommodating people in your travels so far. I'll be saying a little travel prayer for you each week til you get back to us safe and sound, k? Be good, be well, hugs, Cindy
5th May 2007

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
Glad you are doing well! Keep it up girl!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb