Madrid - Day 2 & 3


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 26th 2014
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.3856, -3.67767

So day two in madrid was something of a write off. Good times and good wines with my new friends meant I didn't get to sleep until after midnight. I did make it home without getting lost so that was a win. But when I woke up all was not sunshine and roses. It was lunch time by the time I emerged, ravenously hungry, from my hotel. I stopped at one of the cafes around the corner for some brunch, which was quite nice, but did not really help me. If ever there was a time for a greasy bacon and eggs brekky, this was it. And I couldn't see any advertised anywhere.....nearby.

After my "breakfast" I meandered about for a while but I still felt tired and seedy. At 3 o'clock I went back to the hotel for a siesta, I am in Spain after all. When I woke up again it was after five but I did feel much better. I headed back into Sol for some dinner. I read my book and watched folk milling around. The soccer was on, big game, Real Madrid v Barcelona. I didn't see it but I could hear the cheers coming out of the pubs and bars which had it on TV. I think Madrid won.

Day 3 I was in a much better mood for touristing. I bought a ticket for the hop on/off bus, which was really a waste of money. The route, while pretty, didn't really stop anywhere interesting unless I wanted to go to a museum. I think I've had my fill of museums and its too nice here to be stuck inside. I got off at Puerta Del Alcalca, which is an arch in the middle of a roundabout. The original arch was built in 1599 to welcome Margarita de Austria, the wife of Hapsburg King Felipe III. 150 years later Bourban King Carlos III decided it was to shabby and had it torn down and rebuilt, this time employing an Italian architect to do the design. The Italians do a very nice arch.

From the arch I walked through the Parque de el Retiro. I wish I had found this place yesterday. Its a beautiful big park with no traffic this time. Along the walkways there are lots of fountains and monuments. There was a lake next to Monento Alfonso XII. This very impressive structure was built to commenmorate Alfie by his wife, 17 years after his death. Alfie is credited with returning spain to a monarchy after his Mum was dethroned in 1868 after a revolution. The first republic of spain collapsed six years later leaving the way clear for Alfie to return to the throne. Had I found this place yesterday, this is where I would have spent my afternoon. It was a great green space, peaceful and sunny in the park and some street theatre along the main walkway.

On my way back into town I detoured by the train station to buy my ticket for Valencia. I had to get a ticket, to get a ticket. When my number was finally called, I walk up to the counter to find another couple standing in my place. I waited patiently for them to finish their transaction, which took forever. I think they were plotting the assassination of the president or something they were there for so long. No sooner had they finished than this little old couple pushed in front of me. Then I was really annoyed. I spent so much time waiting for the first couple, another number had been called to my counter. As I had the lower number and a rather annoyed expression, I did get served first. I did feel a little guilty for pushing an old couple out of the way, but dammit, they could see me waiting there to and pushed in front of me too. Old age doesn't get you everything cute old Spanish couple.

After that little altercation I made my way back into town and found a nice little restaurant to have some lunch and spend the afternoon. I had intended to do some blogging but I wasn't feeling particularly inspired so I read my book instead. It was quite a pleasant afternoon, except for the beggars. The problem with dining alfresco on Europe is there are always beggars come to ask you for money or other illegals trying to sell you crap. It's all over the place but it is really bad in Madrid. Or maybe because there wasn't much of it in Ireland I got used to walking around without being harassed. I feel guilty saying no, but the locals hate them for begging and I kind of get why. Even the illegals are trying to sell something to earn a living. The buskers and street performers add something to the ambiance of the place so I don't mind giving them a coin. But not giving to beggars when I have so much and they so little, makes me feel guilty, but giving them a handout means their problems will never be solved. First world conundrum.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb