Valencia - Day 1


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
October 27th 2014
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.4716, -0.374981

Not much to report today. I was up, packed and at the station to get my train to Valencia by 10am. Spain is another one of those places they don't tell you where the train will be until 15 minutes until the departure. The station is a little like an airport. Instead of checking our tickets on board, I had to get my ticket scanned as I made my way to the platform. I had to put my bags through an x-ray and everything. The trains were cool though. No wifi, but clean and comfortable and fast. 356km's in 1 hour 40 minutes.

The countryside is different here again. Much more dry and arid but plenty of farmland. Parts of of it appeared flat but I could see hills off in the distance. Other sections had weird looking rocky hills. At one point I spotted a beautiful lake between two of these hills but I wasn't quick enough with the camera.

When I got to Valencia I caught a cab to my hotel, which I'm pleased to report is pretty swish. I love a cheap hotel that doesn't feel like a cheap hotel. After checking in and getting settled I went out to find some lunch and explore the city. I made my way down to the "river" Which has been diverted and now the old riverbed is parkland. The old bridges are still there, but I could walk down to the riverbed and through these beautiful gardens. I found a nice spot in the sun and sat down to read my book, get my blogs up to date and that was pretty much my day.....Oh and Valencia is beautiful. :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb