Trip to France/Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Oliva
October 2nd 2013
Published: October 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Week 6Week 6Week 6

It's the taking part that counts however, Chris was desperate to finish ahead of the bloke in pink
WEEK 6

This week seems to have passed by very quickly. It's funny how the days seem shorter when the end of a trip is in sight. This has been the most relaxing week so far and we have made the most of being so close to the sea. Each morning after breakfast we have walked along the beach in the Gandia direction before the sun becomes too hot. It's not going to feel the same walking around Hedge End with our coats on! The weather has been wonderful all week and we have been able to sit outside in shorts and t shirt until midnight if we've wanted to. Again, that's something we will miss when we are back home. Today (Tuesday 1st October) the temperature has shot up - 33 degrees in the shade - and we have been to the pool to cool down as there were a lot of jelly fish on the beach this morning!

At the beginning of the week we explored Oliva on our bikes and eventually managed to find the nearest golf course which is at a new resort that has been built around the course. It was a bit too
Week 6Week 6Week 6

A beach cyclist
up-market for us and we decided we didn't want to pay 90 euros for a round of golf. The round trip was 20 miles - another milestone for us on our bikes! It was good training for Chris as he decided to enter the Oliva triathlon on the following day which is an annual event for the locals, 2km swim, 40km cycle ride and 25 km run around the town! - see photo!

We walked around the old town and took some photos from a fortress which looks over the town but apart from a few more bike rides there is not a lot to report this week. Kiko Park is definitely one of the best located campsites we have visited (right next to a beautiful, non-commercial sandy beach) and we have enjoyed spending a few evenings with other campers, having a glass of wine or two and comparing travel stories. It's given us a few ideas for other places to visit.

Tomorrow is our last day here and then we head for Toledo for 3 nights on our way up to northern Spain. I'm sure we'll be sorry to leave the lovely weather behind but I think
Week 6Week 6Week 6

A beach bum
there are thunderstorms forecast for Friday so it could be about to change!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Week 6Week 6
Week 6

Beach next to our campsite
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

Unwelcome visitor
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

It's beer o'clock
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

Almost at the top
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

View from the top
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

Interesting drum ensemble
Week 6Week 6
Week 6

The Triathlon finish line


3rd October 2013

Reaction
The chap on the bike (with the matching Lycra outfit) needed a hair cut and I don't believe the triathlon bit (when one has dodgy knees).
4th October 2013

hallo from bishopstoke
Just to say we have both enjoyed following your exploits and we will miss reading them just so pleased that you had such a wonderful time you both look fantastically fit and well.
4th October 2013

October days
You both look golden and healthy and happy. The days are not golden here but it is still quite warm and we are promised some sun later today and over the weekend. Our weeks away in Norfolk mean that the garden has become a jungle but yesterday I made tarte tatin with the apples from the tree in the garden that is absolutely laden with fruit and there are golden globes of squash creeping along the vegetable patch. The sea exhibition opened on Tuesday, I was appalled, I immediately removed reference of it from my website and have written a letter expressing my feelings to the Head of School though I haven't quite summoned the courage to send it. I'll tell you all about that at some other time. Have worked really hard on Tuesday to complete my 20:20 prints, the print for the calendar is complete and sorted and now I just need to re-adjust to being back at home and try to get back into the flow of things. Although we have been back since last Monday we spent 4 days in London looking after Joseph and Coco so I don't feel quite settled. Being unsettled is not in itself a bad state but if I am to get down to my next art project then it is in fact a necessary state. I am sure that you will enjoy the next phase of your journey, it is lovely to hear about the places you are visiting,I look forward to hearing aout the next stage. love Maureen x
4th October 2013

October days
You both look golden and healthy and happy. The days are not golden here but it is still quite warm and we are promised some sun later today and over the weekend. Our weeks away in Norfolk mean that the garden has become a jungle but yesterday I made tarte tatin with the apples from the tree in the garden that is absolutely laden with fruit and there are golden globes of squash creeping along the vegetable patch. The sea exhibition opened on Tuesday, I was appalled, I immediately removed reference of it from my website and have written a letter expressing my feelings to the Head of School though I haven't quite summoned the courage to send it. I'll tell you all about that at some other time. Have worked really hard on Tuesday to complete my 20:20 prints, the print for the calendar is complete and sorted and now I just need to re-adjust to being back at home and try to get back into the flow of things. Although we have been back since last Monday we spent 4 days in London looking after Joseph and Coco so I don't feel quite settled. Being unsettled is not in itself a bad state but if I am to get down to my next art project then it is in fact a necessary state. I am sure that you will enjoy the next phase of your journey, it is lovely to hear about the places you are visiting,I look forward to hearing aout the next stage. love Maureen x PS Good luck to Chris in the triathlon!
5th October 2013

Fantastic
I have loved reading the blog but feel very miffed that we have been to Spain twice this year, May, - & Madrid last week and the weather has been decidedly iffy! So you need to bring some of the hot stuff back.

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 15; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb