Day 5 9/4/12 Zubiri - Arre 17k (1000yr monastry)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
April 25th 2012
Published: April 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Walked to Arre today.....was a easier walk only drizzling but still the hill´s. Jacqui has said that we do get to some straight roads eventually called the Massetta. I have to believe her.....If nothing else we are getting fit. We stopped on the side of the road and ate yesterdays bread rolls and 4 day old muffins for lunch....true pilgrims.

When we entered Arre´s we had to walk over a 2000 old bridge....It just blows my mind away at the age of everything and of course the camera came out...infact it doesn't stay in the pocket for long...the world I am walking in is so completely different to the one I am use to....Where ever I look I see some thing that is hundreds of year olds.....Makes me so aware of how young Australia is as far as the white man is concerned.....such a baby...

At the end of the bridge was a very old church which seemed shut so walked to another albergue. A man caught up with us and told us we should stay in the church then proceeded to walk us down the street to show us where to eat. All we wanted to do was get rid of the backpacks as it had been a long day.

As it turned out he was a marriest brother and lived at the church. We did stay there in this amazing 1000 year old church. I took photos of the toilet roof as the beams running through the ceiling were so thick and old....Yes I take my camera everywhere....there just may be a opportunity for a photo and when I get home and add them to my blogs you will agree

We met a girl Moria from Ireland last night and had tea with her and she has just walked in and staying in the same room. She is quite a character. When she is walking along she has a bag of food hanging from her backpack and washing. Her thought is as she is walking alone if she can feel it banging she still knows it is there. She came down and had tea with us. Her very stiff legs which made her look so much in pain seem to have improved. Had breakfast with her and we all walked off together the next morning but we lost track of her as she was quite slow. Just one of the many characters that I meet as I walk.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb