Second day on the Trail


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
September 8th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I think I heard people up from around 5am this morning. Around 6am beautiful classical music started playing (a nice way to wake up) and then the lights went on (not such a nice way to wake up). So, that was it, up, dressed and then we hit the road. This time it was, me Oberto, Armando, Marco and Perry. It was very dark when we started and we walked through a forest. It would have been scary if I was on my own. About an hour in we stopped at a cafe for breakfast. Then, once again, it was walking, walking and more walking. We don´t really stop to much along the way - just to do things, like change socks, or fix our loads. Met a lovely mother and daughter combo from South Africa.

We had a couple of options for the night - to stay in Zubiri or go on to Larrasoana. We decided in the end for the closer location ' Zubiri. We were pretty tired from the 25kms we covered. My feet were killing me. We went for a pilgrams meal at a local restaurant (a pilgams meal is a three course meal that is quite cheap - typically, a salad, a main course and a dessert). We were joined by two Germans we met on the Trail '- Annie and Mirkosch. After I had showered I went down to the river to chill for a bit - it was nice to have a little bit of alone time for a while. Then back to the Refugio, met Armando and we went to the supermarket to pick up for food for the journey tomorrow. At lunch Armando had agreed to tell me the Spanish to say to ask for the things we need along the way. So I asked the shopkeeper for salt that we needed for dinner. Success!! a good way to learn Spanish I think!

I´m now using the internet as we wait for space on the stove to cook dinner.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb