Pamplona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
May 21st 2016
Published: May 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

The problem is where to start! There are so many cool things happening here. it's hard to figure out at what point to start describing what I have been experiencing. I suppose the most interesting part is the variety of people .. Thousands come out and walk the streets between 8 o'clock and 10 o'clock.mostly young men and woman but also couples , families and the elderly. The restaurants aren't open until 8 o'clock though 😞 . The Plaza de Castillo has many cafes that are outside with tables under umbrellas which is crowded by 5 o'clock with people drinking talking , people watching other people and having a good time. I suppose the cafes are there as a warm up until the resturants open ? If so very clever . My hostal is one street off the Plaza castillio which is convenient to go have a bite to eat or sit and watch all the people. I might even have a beer.

The Irun bar and restaurant are on the Plaza. The Irun is famous as being Hemingway's favorite bar to hang out while he was in Pamplona. There is a life-size statue of him in the bar which I'm sure he would enjoy being there until eternity.

I tried to put videos into this blog without much success so what I will do is post the links to the videos I've taken for YouTube and if you feel like copy pasting into your browser to view

Violinist


The Plaza de Castello


Band in Plaza Castillio


My street in action


Choir


Did I mention the music? Yep there's music all kinds. There's bands playing contemporary music in the center of the Plaza , theres violinist on one of roads reading into the Plaza , theres actors wearing suits of armour and damsels in distress.

Why the heck walk for six weeks when theres Pamplona! (Just kidding)

More later.. gators


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



21st May 2016

Good start!
It looks like you are having a wonderful start to your Camino. Pamplona is a great city. I hope your first day walking up Alto de Perdon is an easy one. Take your time and enjoy the view!
21st May 2016

About the Experience
It is :). Might start in Los Arcos .Depends on a xouple things
3rd June 2016

Spain
So jealous. Marc is going to Spain next year. I love Hemingway. And street musicians (well, with exceptions...)
4th June 2016

In Madrid
Yeah.,its great .Sadly, I'm heading home in a couple days .. bummed my knee nicely . But , loved it . ( Spain, not the bummed knee)

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb