8 Things I'm Still Not Used to in Spain/Europe


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
September 10th 2010
Published: September 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This isn't a list of complaints or anything like that. some of the things are actually really nice. I just wanted to write something a little different. I'm also attaching pictures of life in Pamplona.

1. Cars stop. Like, if you're walking down the street, and there's a crosswalk with white blocks but no little stop sign thing, you can just keep on walking, cars just stop. It's like the whole country has invisible, super speedy patrols. It's like magic.

2. Free time. I actually have loads and loads of free time here. I have no job, school is easy, and I just don't know what do do with myself. Its a little scary actually.

3. Everyone smokes. In the U.S I think smoking is one of those things people don't freely admit to, or its sort of shameful in a way. Maybe thats a good thing, I don't know. But here, professors, students, even the security guys smoke directly in from of the main building all day. Walking down the street is smokey, my roommates smoke in the piso, and smoking is allowed in bars. It really doesn't bother me, it's just strange.

4. Harem pants. I see girls wearing these everyday, they look like hippie-MC Hammer hybrids. But I bet they're super super comfy. I feel like I'm dangerously close to doing exactly what I did with leggings. ('wow, those are so not pants, they look ridiculous' and two months later 'holy hell these are comfy I'm not wearing pants all semester') But for now, I just find them a little strange.

5.Chinese. I hear so much Chinese everyday. My roommate is from Taiwan, and part of a huge group in ILCE (my foreign student program) from Taiwan. Plus, Pamplona apparently has a huge Chinese population so I hear it in the street too.

6. No one knows where Minnesota is. I mean, I'm not self obsessed, it doesn't upset me and it shouldn't. It just makes me feel like we have a measly state when everyone's response is 'well my cousin went to California once'

7. Coke. Coca-Cola Light is disgusting. Coke tastes like its made with real sugar (no thank you). This is basically the only part of this list that is a full fledged compliant.

8. Siesta. Siesta is awesome when you're taking a nap. Siesta is irritating
Governmenty PlaceGovernmenty PlaceGovernmenty Place

I think the flags are Spain, Navara, Pamplona, and EU flags.
when its 2pm and the library on campus is closed until 4. Everything but the grocery store closes down for a few hours everyday.



Advertisement



12th September 2010

Harem Pants.
Haha Yes!!!! I am so glad you have discovered the pants!!!!!! They are ridiculous looking and I actually bought a pair when I was there. I saw someone wearing them in the Fargo airport this summer and it made me miss Spain and their ridiculous outfit choices.
16th September 2010

Pants
Very nice Ana! I think we could wear them to camp for some extra authenticity. Also, they're probably good for running away from bears or whatever is in the woods on the colina

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb