February Overview


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
February 27th 2009
Published: February 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everybody,

I know that it’s been far too long since I updated, so I just wanted to make a quick post to let you all know that I’m still alive and doing just fine. I just completed my third week of classes and for the most part they are going well. I’m in three Spanish for Business Use-type classes, a Literature class that I absolutely love, Translation, and a more intensive Grammar class. Those are all geared towards foreigners, and on top of that, I’m in one class within the regular university called Spanish Politics and Justice. That’s kind of a toughie because of both the level of Spanish spoken in the classroom and the fact that everybody else, being Spanish, already has somewhat of a base in Spanish Politics. Luckily one of my classmates is super nice and has offered to lend me her notes every week. I’ll just have to try and keep up outside of the classroom.

On the friends front, things are going really well. There was a time there when I was really missing Concordia for the great circle of support that I have there, but as I’ve started meeting people and finding similar minds, that has started to subside. I feel like I now have people here who will be there for me through thick and thin. Obviously that really helps make a girl feel comfortable.

We’ve already had a few excursions. Last week was skiing in Candanchu where I put my lessons from Norway to good use and still managed to come home completely bruised. The week before that the university took us to a nearby beach town to explore for a day, and I don’t think that we stopped walking in the eight hours we were there because there was so much to see. Previous to starting classes, the other MN girls and I took a trip to Olite, a small town outside of Pamplona which offers a castle and everything wine-related you could ever ask for. It was pouring rain that day, so the excursion ended a bit early, but not before we meandered through the entire castle, learned a bit at the Wine and Vine Museum, and picked up our two complementary bottles of wine.

The adventure this week began on Tuesday when I decided that it would be best for me to move out of my current living situation. Since the end of the month is Saturday, you may be able to imagine what a whirlwind this week has been. My current place is not a bad situation; I think it’s just not for me. We have “pension completa,” which means that Alicia cooks and cleans and does everything for us. She doesn’t really like other people in her kitchen, and I really feel that I should be able to cook for myself, and I miss being in control of my own diet. Moving out has other advantages too. Economically it makes a lot of sense, and I’ll get to choose a better neighborhood (closer to school and the center).

So, Tuesday night brought the ever-awkward “I’m not happy here and so I’m moving out” conversation, and found me sending over 20 emails to potential roommates from the school’s housing website. Wednesday included follow-up calls to the especially interesting places because I was tipped off that many Spanish don’t make a habit of checking their email. I also made two visits that day. Thursday I opened my very on Spanish bank account and made three more visits. Of the places that I saw, one was full of smoke, one had water-logged floor, and a third was lacking a fun roommates feeling. They could all be made to work, but luckily I found one where I think I’ll be really happy. I met two of the girls who currently live there (one who is moving out), and they were both really warm and welcoming. They said that they like to eat together and hang out when they’re all home. None of them smoke, which is spectacular because it’s a difficult quality to find here. Overall the place and the girls just gave off a really good vibe, so…drum roll please…I’m moving tomorrow.

I’m fully aware that it could still be a rough ride, but so far this situation has gone smoothly, and I’m hoping to keep it that way. I look forward to giving you an update in a couple of weeks, and hopefully it will be all good news!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb