Day 4 - Another Night Of Rain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Estella
September 29th 2012
Published: October 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Alto de PerdónAlto de PerdónAlto de Perdón

Not very forgiving
Route: Zariquiegui - Zirauki

Another night of rain.

Rain makes me feel nervous. I envision myself walking in the rain all day with everything getting wet. A miserable prospect.

Fortunately when I woke up, the rain had stopped. Shortly after leaving the village where I spent the night we had to climb a small but relatively steep hill called "El Viento del Perdón". Under strong winds I went uphill to find that the going was very heavy. The rain had made the clay sticky. It stuck to your boots and getting it off was not easy. The sticking clay at some moments made me 1 to 2 inches taller. Heavy going. Up the hill there are a number of figures cut out of steel, personificating pilgrims. Unfortunately I did not take a photo of them.

Further an interesting walk going through centuries-old towns, crowned by the town of Puente de la Reina. Has a very nice 16 century bridge. We were in luck because they were celebrating their "fiestas patronales" with fireworks and all. After 6 and a half hours of walk and 23 km I found a albergue in Cirauqui, or in basque Zirauki. Many beds but few people. A very nice very old town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Puente la ReinaPuente la Reina
Puente la Reina

El puente verdadero.


Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb