Days 13, 14 and 15


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia
May 18th 2014
Published: May 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

16/05/14

Palas de Rei to Arzua - fantastic day today, even though it was 29kms, mostly through woodland and beautiful green countryside. Stopped in Melide for lunch, busy township with medieval roots and architecture and great for a wonder. I have walked mostly on my own again today, perhaps as I was keen to keep a good pace and avoid getting in after 3pm when the sun is as it's most powerful here. Even though I was alone, it was great to reflect on what has been a fantastic trip so far and how lucky I am to be here. Feeling so relaxed on the inside, the same cannot be said for the outside however, my legs are tired tonight and one blister almost has it's own postcode now!

Staying in another Casa tonight where the seƱora speaks no English, but it's very clean and lovely and I'm ready to hit the mattress and old oak bed.

17/05/14

After a beautiful homemade breakfast (of which the strawberries and orange juice went to waste on me being allergic), I meandered through town on my way to O Pedrouzo. 22kms today and a lot of it felt like home with tracks full of eucalyptus tress and ferns, the smells and the sights reminded me of walks in Queensland which Dan and I have not done enough of with the kids. That will be remedied though, it is so peaceful and beautiful to be away from the hustle and bustle and walking through tracks like this.

Towards the end of the route I met up with Bill, Claire, Sue Anne and Karen again and we agreed it was like being at home. Decided to start tomorrow as a group and hopefully all walk in to Santiago around the same time.

Hiccup tonight with my accommodation, the place on my itinerary did not have me booked there and they were full! No matter, I ended up a bit closer in town at a Pension and it was warm and cosy. Could barely face dinner, bit sick of eating to be honest, but pushed myself through a salad of sorts. Would kill for a plate of steamed veges and butter (not olive oil and definitely no bread).

18/05/14

Well it's here, my last day of walking. I can hardly believe it and yet in some ways it hasn't come around fast enough. Mixed emotions about leaving the trail, but so excited and proud to have come this far without injury or getting a taxi or giving up. Bit teary actually and probably will be when entering Santiago.

I have thought for the last few days what my blog would end with, pros / cons of the Camino for me (should I have started in St Jean Pied de Port to appreciate it fully), of the luggage service (maybe I should have just carried a pack or stayed in albergues to meet more people), did I get what I wanted / needed from the Camino? Should I get all reflective (or as Dan would say "a bit Rick Stein") on the past few weeks and how my trip in Spain has been...... In the end I leave you with something I read recently in of all things, Jennifer Saunders' autobiography, which has stuck with me this trip:



"The only life worth living is the adventurous life. Of such a life, the dominant characteristic is that it is unafraid. It is unafraid of what other people think....It does not adapt either its pace or its objectives
to the pace and objectives of its neighbours. It thinks its own thoughts, it reads its own books. It develops its own hobbies, and it is governed by its own conscience. The heard may graze where it pleases or stampede where it pleases, but he who lives the adventurous life will remain unafraid when he finds himself alone." Raymond B. Fosdick



Buen Camino

Kylie


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement















Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb