Fonfria to Sarria


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Sarria
June 22nd 2015
Published: June 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Something did not agree with Mike's stomach last night. He went to bed with an ache and woke up with a cold sweat and getting rid of whatever that was unsettling. I will spare the details. There was a knock on our room door. The owner was very concerned. Mike waved an, I'm ok and shut the door. It was a long night. In the morning we decided it best to make it a short day. We booked a room in Sarria. Before leaving another gal said she was in the same boat as Mike. The owner was very apologetic. 8:15 am, on the road. The first 7 miles were down hill. The chill felt good. Mike needed to stop and take breaks every so often. We rolled through many small towns. It was up and down the rest of the trip. My favorite town was Samos. I wish we could have stopped and walked around but Mike was not in any condition to tour. He just wanted to get to a place to rest. In Sarria we stopped at the tourist center to stamp out pilgrim passports. She informed us we are 100 kilometres from Santiago and need to get 2 stamps per day in different towns.
We still have a day or so to climb. It's hard to believe that we are so close. I am trying to savor the last few days. On the other hand I am ready to sleep in my own bed and not have to get up and bike. We stopped at a cafe for tortillas and there were none. I encourage Mike to eat a banana and he got some yogurt. Rode to our Hostel and had to wait a half an hour for our room. Mike napped on the grass and I watched perigrinos walk by. At 12:30 our room was ready. The owner helped carry our bags up stairs. Mike laid on the bed and said he needed to rest. I went back to the garden and read. It's pretty warm out. I was able to take a short siesta. Went back upstairs to see if Mike was still sleeping. He had just woken up. He looked like carp. Fortunately there was a resort downstairs we could get some food. Mike order pasta w/ tomatoe sauce and I had an ensalada mixta. No wine tonight😞
Rode 20 miles today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd June 2015

Mike
Oh my, so sorry ?. Is he feeling any better? Food? Water? Love you. Hope tomorrow will be a better day!
22nd June 2015

Much better
Yes, he drank soda water and ate a little bit of pasta, banana and yogurt.

Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb