Camino Day 27: Palas de Rei to Ribodiso de Baia:


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Sarria
June 4th 2022
Published: June 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

We were up and on our way before 6:30am. We weren't expecting a bar to be open very soon, but the Albergue Valin Lama surprised us. I think it was because it was also a panaderia or bakery. Anyways, we took advantage of it and stopped for breakfast. We left Palas de Rei at almost 7am, and entered the outskirts of San Xulian by 7:30. Next, we passed through A Grana and entered Casanova at almost 8am, stopping at the Bar Casa Nova. About half an hour later we thought we spotted Ribadiso, but we were wrong. We kept going and passed through Coto and Leboreiro, and made the outskirts of Melide. At almost 10am we entered the Bosque de Peregrinos. There was a neat bridge into the town and soon after we stopped at the Alborada Heladeria/Cafeteria, Churreria for a break.

After our break, we had a long walk to Riocobo and then Boente de Arriba where we stopped for lunch at the Cafeteria El Aleman. I decided to try the Patatas Ali y Oli, but they were rather hard, like they were frozen french fries instead of the usual hand cut. Oh well, live and learn. I also learned another lesson, that of leaving my hat on or at least remembering that I took it off. After lunch, we continued a kilometer or so, almost all downhill, when I noticed I didn't have my hat. This hat had been with me on two Caminos before, so Manoli found a comfortable spot to wait for me while I went back uphill and got it. I returned and soon after we passed through A Fonte Prata and Castaneda, and finally had our first sight of Ribadiso de Baia.

At almost 2:30pm we entered Ribadiso de Baia and located our albergue, Los Caminantes. We checked in and were shown to our room, a private with 2 single beds and our own bathroom, a real surprise. We stored our stuff and went across the street to the Meson de Ribadiso for Manoli to eat lunch. I got an ice cream and Manoli had peppers. Afterwards we settled into our nice private room, did laundry and chilled. I got a can of Cocido from their vending machine, along with a pastry and went back to the room. I settled in for the night and enjoyed their decent WiFi.

Tomorrow we head to O Pedrouzo, our last stop before Santiago de Compostela.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb