All Saints Day, Looking, Looking.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
November 1st 2016
Published: November 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Room With A ViewRoom With A ViewRoom With A View

This is my view from my room. See the little whit prison Windows opposite me, that's my kind of room. Small, monastic but just the best place to finish this trip in.
Another quiet day and the weather has changed to very cool and overcast.

I went to an early breakfast and left San Martin in search of better internet. The morning was biting into my skin and I regretted going back to shorts today. The bar near the park was the first I found with internet so I bought a coffee and got connected.

After doing what I needed to do I chatted to a couple from Boston for about an hour. They had walked the Portuguese route and were due to go home. It's interesting for me to learn of others experiences and about the different Ways. Elliott and Deb were retired and did a lot of walking, in spite of Elliott's new knee, and completed the Francés last year.

When I left the bar it was raining, so the weather has turned. I don't mind, I can still wander around and do as I please, and much of Santiago has porticos along the streets.

I continued my attempts at shopping, bought nothing, and sat on a low wall outside San Martin, watching people finish their Camino . Elliott had a site that recorded arrivals and yesterday 465 people finished their walk.

Marain, the Irish fisherman I met yesterday, came back before and had been to the mass to see the Botafumerio . He was thrilled to see it and is now leaving tomorrow.

I might have the pilgrims meal they cook here and have my main meal at lunch. It's 3 courses for 12€ and will save fighting the crowds later. I had paella last night with John but I haven't sighted him today so I will be eating alone.

More rain is expected tomorrow so I have no idea how to spend my last day. The park would have been nice. Adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Our CloistersOur Cloisters
Our Cloisters

My walk to my room; very cool.

Pilgrim ShadowPilgrim Shadow
Pilgrim Shadow

This image is created by the straight pillar in front of it and the profile of the pillar on the Cathedral . The staff is just a shadow along the edge of the cathedral pillar. Planned? Maybe.
Night MusicNight Music
Night Music

Like a gypsy band.
Solo HarpistSolo Harpist
Solo Harpist

There's always music around the cathedral precinct .


2nd November 2016

I've so enjoyed reading your blog Steve. Your descriptive, insightful journey has almost.... made me want to do this walk. See you back at work.
2nd November 2016

Thanks, Viv.
Only almost....Come on, Viv!

Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 106; dbt: 0.1755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb