MMM yummy food in Madrid!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
September 24th 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow, time flies!! My friend Veronica has toured me all over the city, which gave me the chance to see amazing buildings, statues, museums, parks, and of course, restaurants! This may end up sounding like a post all about food, but I have to share the amazing food I've tried! (PS I've never ate this well in ANY other country before!)

Bocadillos (aka small sandwich)- we went to '100 montaditos', which had one hundred different combinations! Spanish tortilla, Russian salad, salmon & cream cheese, lomo (dried pork loin), jamon iberico (special kind of ham), even a dessert montadito with chocolate and jam...yum!

Tapas- croquetas (OMG amazing), gulas (a fish that is processed and looks like spaghetti, lol), chipirones fritos (like calamari).

Sopas- gaspacho (cold tomato soup), calabazin con papas (zucchini and potatoes), remolacha (beets), all homemade!!

Last, and definitely NOT least... paella... wow, there's nothing like it! But I think it only tastes this good in Spain 😊 Also, fresh calamar cut up in pasta with garlic and basil, yum!, risotto (homemade) and chicken fillet...it's a good thing I'm walking so much!!

Well, aside from all the yummy food, we also happened to find a Zumba class (!), however it didn't quite do it for me, so I'll be eagerly looking to start teaching asap!! On Sunday we went to 'el rastro' which is a huge outdoor market, with clothes, music, antiques, etc. Since everything is closed on Sundays in Spain, its great activity to start the day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb