First full day in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 13th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our first full day in Madrid started at noon yesterday because we had slept 12 hours after our arrival! Travelling can be hard work! (i think the heat was a factor--30 degrees C after months of cold weather took its toll.)

So we just skipped breakfast and moved right on to lunch in a cute bakery near our hotel in the Gran Via, called Le Pain Quotidien (my love of French follows me everywhere!) I settled for a bowl of carrot soup and a hunk of organic bread, then a new kind of coffee to me--cortado. It's an espresso with a touch of milk, like a small capuccino (called a noisette in France). Just right when you don't want to spend a fortune on your coffee.

Next, we headed off to tackle the Prado. I say tackle because, like so many of the great museums of the world, it is daunting in size and magnificece of works displayed. I decided to look only at the Spanish paintings 1500 to 1920s. That took me about 2 hours with the help of an audio-guide (highly recommended).

I confess that I did take a peek at some Rembrandts and Rubens, and a few French Impressionists' paintings. I couldn't help myself...

I remembered some of my favourite works from my visit here in 1966-- The Infanta Margarita which was attributed to Velasquez but is now credited to his son-in-law, Mazo. The Goyas are memorable and Sorillos too.

As a contrast, our evening was a dinner-flamenco show. What fabulous dancing! I want one of those dresses, but also the figure to go with it!

Now, on our 2nd day in Madrd, I am up and keen at 7am. Typing this with 1 finger is a challenge, so forgive any typos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb