One day in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 12th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Plaza, MadridPlaza, MadridPlaza, Madrid

The major tourist gathering place in Madrid.
Got to Madrid early on Friday 12th May. Thankfully, Spanish immigration and customs were very relaxed and I was out of the airport and on the metro within 30 minutes of landing. After a couple of line switches, I dumped my pack at the bus station (ready for the overnight bus to Lisbon), and headed into the city for a long day of walking and taking 100's of photos.

What can I say? I really enjoyed the city. The architecture was great, the people were helpful, and it is a great city to wander around. I was treated to a protest with very loud dance music for accompaniment and then to something a little more gentile, free operetta in a park.

My favorite momument was that for Cervantes and, of course, prominently featured Don Quixote and his side kick, Sancho. Loved it. 'Man of la Mancha' was hummed for many hours after sitting in the shade of that monument!

Having spent over 8 hours wandering the streets, I will need limited time upon my return next week to see the sights I am yet to tick off
Monument to CervantesMonument to CervantesMonument to Cervantes

Don Quixote & Sancho in the foreground.
my list.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Retiro ParkRetiro Park
Retiro Park

A great spot to relax in the afternoon....
Retiro Park IIRetiro Park II
Retiro Park II

The crystal palace. Amazing inside - camera could just not quite catch the effects.
Prado MusuemPrado Musuem
Prado Musuem

My favorite sculpture at the Prado. I wonder why?


19th May 2006

Good wishes
Merryn, Seems you are having a wonderful time. We're sure the Prado was on your Madrid to do list. The "black Goyas" are spectacular. Best wishes for you conntinued travels.
21st May 2006

Ah Madrid!
Loved Madrid too. The Prado was a high light and must if you get time. We have a Velazquez (don't forget to make your z's sound like s's) which takes pride on our walls it's the Royal family portrait. They do this excellent thing of making a print actually look like an oil painting. Enjoying the blogs. Wow what a trip of life time!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb