Last week in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
November 11th 2004
Published: November 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Plaza MayorPlaza MayorPlaza Mayor

Salamanca
Hi Everyone! Glad to be back online and glad to be back in the circle of life! As some of you know, I was sick for the last few days! I was stuck in my apartment since I arrived from Salamanca that dreadful Sunday afternoon.
My apartment has turned into something like a hospital (just kidding), well I´m saying that because all the time in my apartment there are a few people who are sick, so we can definetely blame it on them. It´s so nice to be back in school, I missed all my classes this week and today I made it to my second class. The teacher of my second class even hugged me when he saw me coming in. I really missed my classes and I´ve forgotten how to speak Spanish because my last class was on Friday.

My last week in Madrid did not start out too great, but I hope to make the best of the last couple of days. I had so many plans, but maybe I´m not meant to plan. Like the way I planned my Salamanca trip this past weekend. I decided to stay there for the night because I heard that it should be beautiful and that there´s lot´s of night life.
Well, it´s definetely true. Salamanca is beatiful. When I arrived late Saturday afternoon and the bus was going along the river, the view was spectacular. After seeing desert like land with a few trees here and there, some rocks, some pieces of no longer existent walls for 3 hours, this sort of grand city with a huge cathedral opened up in front of me across the river, it was amazing. At night Salamanca proved to be just as amazing and full of life. The nightlife or the night to morning life is confirmed by me from the bed of my hotel room. I did end up staying right in the heart of the city, in the plaza mayor and from my bed from midnight until 10am, I heard singing, chanting, clapping, bottle crashing, car honking, laughing. The night went on even past the sunrise, I was amazed and more than anything upset that I had missed it.
Not only did my plans to go out did not turn out as planned, my plans to see more of the city on Sunday morning did not go well at all because after my cafe con leche I took a cab to the train station. It was funny when the taxi driver asked me if I look like hell because I´ve been partying all night and when I told him ´´no´´, he didn´t believe me.

I guess I should´ve looked for the frog on the university building in Salamanca that saturday night, maybe then I would have luck. But I decided to look for it on Sunday, which shows that we should not leave anything for another day 😊 I do want to come back to Salamanca again and look for that lucky frog, but this time you Salamanca girls(you know who you are) will have to join me.

As for Madrid, there´s one thing left to see which I´ve been pushing off and that´s the Prado. It´s hard to believe that I´ve been here for almost 5 weeks now and still have not visited the place. Hopefully I will visit it tomorrow or Saturday, but now I´m not sure that I have the strength to visit this mountain of an art museum.

Advertisement



11th November 2004

my beloved salamanca!
i'm so happy you liked Salamanca. Too bad you couldn't fully enjoy it. Well, enjoy your last days in Madrid....and pace yourself....the Prado will take away all energy you have accumulated. salamanca girl

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb