a little bit of Halloween, a little bit of Basque Country, and a little bit of everything else...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
November 3rd 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

halloween!halloween!halloween!

the complete look! at shelley´s hostel across the street from our place.
Hope everyone had lots of trick or treaters and watched tons of scary movies. As for me, I didn´t eat a single piece of candy nor did I go to a haunted house. The young crowd here celebrates Halloween to a certain extent. They usually just go out to a club or bar like every other night until all hours of the morning dressed up as something scary (dead nurse, vampire, zombie, etc...). They don´t nearly dress as creative, funny, cute as the college kids at home haha.

April and I were 80´s rockstars...complete with brightly colored leggings, side pony tails, bright makeup, rockstar shirts, and crazy necklaces. Lucky for me, my friend SHELLEY came to visit for a couple days, and though she had no costume, she still came out to El Kapital - a 7 floor club with different music and a different atmosphere on each floor. It was lots of fun and certainly cost enough...

We had a good visit with Shelley, who is studying in Paris. I have more pictures of us around the Royal Palace and other parts of downtown that I still need to upload.

It is raining again today and I
halloween!halloween!halloween!

a close up of the crazy makeup and hair!
hate it! But TGIF!! And I am sooooo sad to be missing the O.C. right now!!!!

Homesick status: 3% homesick. So barely not even at all. Maybe closer to Thanksgiving I will be? I heard that TGIFriday´s here has a Thanksgiving feast with all the trimmings for a set price. Looks like we´ll be celebrating there... and our extended family will be together for the holiday. I am lucky to be here with people that I not only like, but love. It makes it worth the while and the days pass so much easier.

Last week we went to San Sebastian and Bilbao up north in Basque Country. Here are a few pictures (mostly just of the beach!) We also saw the Guggenheim which was pretty sweet.

Love you!!!!!
Theresa

next weekend: Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla...



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

halloween!halloween!
halloween!

me and shelley!
halloween!halloween!
halloween!

me gracefully playing my air guitar lol
halloween!halloween!
halloween!

me and april... at el kapital
weekendweekend
weekend

gorgeous cathedral in san sebastian at night
weekendweekend
weekend

I MISS everyone!!
weekendweekend
weekend

beach town
weekendweekend
weekend

i was laying down...sorry for crookedness
weekendweekend
weekend

me on the beach
weekendweekend
weekend

sharon, me and april looking cute on the beach haha
weekendweekend
weekend

me and april modeling haha
weekendweekend
weekend

linda pushing me off a cliff...lol
weekendweekend
weekend

an attempt at a cute picture!! wes, ana, erika, linda, and me
weekendweekend
weekend

sunset at the dock
guggenheimguggenheim
guggenheim

me in front of the famous guggenheim museum!
guggenheimguggenheim
guggenheim

a huge dog made out of flowers in front of the guggeheim :)


4th November 2006

Thanksgiving at Fridays! Wonder if the ones here are open? Nice pictures. The cars look alot smaller over there. The beach looks nice, not crowded. Miss you. Love, mom

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb