Dy 45 - Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 1st 2011
Published: June 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I met up with a few people who are staying in the same hostel as me this morning and we went on a free walking tour run by NewEurope Tours. It was really interesting. After the tour I went to the royal palace which is the largest in western Europe. It is free on wednesdays to EU citizens. However, it was shut due to formal events. Annoying. Oh well. After that I just went for a bit of a wonder around the city back towards puerta del sol. This is the official centre of Spain. There is even a plaque marking the centre of the city. Unfortunately I couldn´t see it due to the students protesting. At one point there were 30 thousand students in the square.

At 11:45 I went on a pub crawl. It cost 10 euros and I got my money´s worth after the first bar. There was an open bar for sangria and beer for an hour. I got quite drunk after this first bar, and then in the seond bar had a shot of tequila. Again a bad idea . I bailed at this point and headed back to the hostel quite drunk.

Ah well. It was fun, which makes it all OK.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb