Day 23: Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 20th 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning after having spent my first night in a hotel since this trip started; you'd think I would have enjoyed it, but I have to be honest and tell you that it made me miss the bustling atmosphere of a hostel. Granted the hotel has it's perks, the breakfast buffet is amazing, but laundry costs 10 euros for a shirt, more for pants, you're in a room by yourself, so there's no one to meet, the wireless is ridiculously expensive, and you can't cook your own dinner in the kitchen. Overall as far as hotels go the Husa Princesa is really nice, I've just been spoiled by the convenience of hostels, and don't mind their lack of luxury.

I met my home stay roommate, and she's not crazy! Her name is Laura, and so far we get along really well and have a lot in common. For dinner, her and I and 6 others went to a Chinese restaurant that Robert and I had been to the night before and everyone loved it. For 10 euros each we all stuffed ourselves full, and split 3 pitchers of sangria between us, and that was just the beginning of the night. On the way back to the hotel we got a bunch of 40's of beer and took them back to the room to hang out and relax for a bit. Then Daniel and had the great idea of taking a walk to the park, then to another bar... I didn't get to sleep til 3am. I'll sleep when I'm older!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb