Euro-Trippin


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Park in MadridPark in MadridPark in Madrid

Glass museum. Forgot the name...
So, I left Africa... I am a little bummed, but I am in Europe now. So everything is great. It was very weird to get back into civilization. A little reverse culture shock I think. It is odd to no longer be a minority. It's all good though. From Equatorial Guinea, I went directly to Madrid and stayed in a hostel for a few days. That was by far, the nicest, cleanest hostel I have ever seen or heard of. It's in between the hippie neighborhood and the gay neighborhood, so as you can imagine it was great fun.

My friend Sally, in Malabo, set me up to have her friend in Madrid take me to all of the sights and to all the best night clubs. I really had a great time. Spaniards party very hard, and sleep very little. I am still exhausted. We stayed out until at least 6 am each night dancing. I probably would have left earlier, but I have a hard time walking away from all of the gorgeous Spanish women... I am only human after all 😉

During the days I usually went to cafes and relaxed with delicious coffee and pasteries
Downtown MadridDowntown MadridDowntown Madrid

Government building downtown
and then my friend, Maria and I went all around the city and saw all of the amazing sights. The architecture is incredible. I would recommend Madrid to anyone. Wonderful place.

Now I am in Dublin. It is damn cold and wet. Life on the equator has made me soft. It's okay, I have Guinness to warm me up. It's really true. The Guinness here is soooo much better. I don't know why. The first thing I did after I checked into my hostel was go to a pub for a pint. I am hooked. Which may or may not be a good thing... Tomorrow I am going the Guinness Storehouse and the Jameson Distillery. So that should be a good time.

The hostel here in Dublin is much more like I thought a hostel should be like. 20+ people per room and about 10 rooms. Very busy, but I have already met a bunch of interesting people from all over the world. Last night I went to Temple Bar (famous music lounge) with a group of students studying in Rotterdam. They were all very fun people. Also if I ever go to Holland or Greece or Italy
Spanish PalaceSpanish PalaceSpanish Palace

King's palace... or at least it used to be. I don't think anyone lives there. It is a bit small after all ;)
I have a place to stay. Made some good contacts. Great people.

Today I went to Christ Church Cathedral. It is amazing. The gothic architecture and history is incredible. The cathedral has been there since AD 1030 or so and it is still standing strong. Best 4 Euros I ever spent.

Alright well, I'll be here in Ireland until Friday morning. Then I am off to Scotland. Pretty excited about that. Hope everyone is doing well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Christ Church CathedralChrist Church Cathedral
Christ Church Cathedral

Outside of the Cathedral in Dublin.
Christ Church CathedralChrist Church Cathedral
Christ Church Cathedral

inside the main cathedral. WOW.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb