Episode 11: Montserrat, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever been robbed? Well I have. AND YOU'LL JUST HAVE TO WONDER HOW!!! No, you'll just have to read my blog.

Anyway, I started off yesterday with a ridiculously early (9:00 am) wake up. My mom, Teja, and I had a quick breakfast, and then we got in the car and drove. And drove and drove. And drove. We finally arrived at our destination, Montserrat, an hour after we left Sitges. It's an amazing mountain, nothing like you've ever seen in California or New York or Vermont or Italy or wherever you are right now. It's almost like the mountains in the landscape SacredAgent, my dad's interactive internet site. In Catalan, the word 'serrat' means 'jagged'. I can see why they called it Montserrat.

Now I assume you are wondering who 'they' are. Located between some of Montserrat's craggy peaks is what used to be a Benedictine monastery and is now a Benedictine monastery and a tourist center. Still, the 8th century monastery is totally beautiful.

To get to the monastery, you have to park your car at the base of the mountain and take a cable car/gondola up. Note: If you are afraid of heights, don't take the cable car up, there is also a railway winding up the mountain.

We had lunch at a cafeteria there, which wasn't so bad, for a cafeteria. We then took a walk out in the forest on Montserrat. I plopped my hat down by a statue of a saint so that my mom could take a picture of me, and a minute later, that hat was gone!!!! The saints must have stolen it! Or maybe the monks. I don't know.

I then took the gondola down, and we drove home. I was exhausted. That's how I usually feel at the end of a day here. You won't believe how hard it is speaking Spanish all day. Boy, it requires so much brain power! Anyway, I'm going to end it here, as my mom and I are going out ... somewhere.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb