Goodbye, Sylt


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 10th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Barcelona! After a somewhat hectic morning in terms of packing and cleaning out the house, we made it out in perfect time to catch our train, which in turn put us in in perfect time to catch our plan to Barcelona. We made it into the city and to our hostel in great time. We're located right in the middle of the city, and it seems as though the street we're on is the equivalent of Newbury Street in Boston, but nicer: within a few blocks, we hit Gucci, Valentino, and other designers. We're also less than a block from Gaudi's famous Casa Batllo, which was amazing to walk by.


Samii and I headed out shortly after arriving and did a loop of the city, which conveniently took us around, but not near La Segrada Familia. Of course, we will be heading over to visit it one of the next few days, but it was funny that we managed to keep it right in the middle of our loop today. Tomorrow we're going to try to catch a walking tour of the city, after which we will explore a bit more, depending entirely on what we find that looks interesting.



One of the things I love about this part of the trip is that, with only the two of us, it's easy to decide what to do, and we're not worried about proper planning; we just do everything on the fly. Unfortunately, since we spent about half our day in transit, I have little more to report, except for on the food.



I might move to Europe just for the food. I know I raved about it in Milan, and I'm sure I will again in Rome, but here it was just as good. Partway through our loop, we happened upon a tapas bar in the middle of the residential (which is exactly what we wanted; we're trying to avoid tourist trap restaurants). The sangria was completely out of this world, the gazpacho was like nothing I'd experienced before, and their patatas bravas (basically fried potatoes with spicy sauce) were glorious as well. I literally could not find a thing to complain about if I wanted to. if this is what I have to look forward to this week, I think I can live with it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb