Miro and Picasso


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 14th 2013
Published: June 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well today at Starbucks, I am Charlet. I think I will keep going back to see who I am each day, its entertaining. So yesterday I shopped and spent some time in the barcelonetta district. Very cute area with narrow roads, and with its location so close to the ocean its got that beachy vacation vibe. I had gone down there to eat at Con Mojo, a place well known for their paella, but unfortunately it was full so I settled for another place that had a great patio on the beach. I had the pan con tomate, tomato rubbed bread. This was actully pretty good and the contrast of the crunchy crust with the tomato soaked bread was delish. I will come back to this neighbor hood when I come to the beach.

So todays agenda was the fundacio Joan Miro. He was a local artist who painted and also did grande sculptures, some of which are through out the city. He like to paint mainly in the primary colors, and green black and white. Its almost a signature and makes it easy to identify his work. There were a couple of exhibitions happening, one called insomnia from a collection of artist, using video as an art form. I have seen this in museums in paris, and it definitely invokes a weird uneasy feeling, from me, that is. Some of it makes you feel stoned, others makes you feel like you should slit your wrists and watch yourself bleed out. Its kinda like the video from the movie The Ring. Creepy, eerie, black and white images. Some to music, some flashing in a -im having a seizure- type way. One room down the stairs had two old school photo film slide projectors. Like the ones from elementry where you could press the button, and it would do this clicking noise to change to the next slide. These were on automatically so the whole room was silent except for the methodical click. It displayed images of black geometric shapes on the wall. Beside it was an old school film projector, feeding a reel and displaying a black and white video, I assume from the early part of the century. In the corner if the room was an old tube tv, sitting in the floor, with videos of men staring into the camera. Just staring,aside from the natural human inclination to figet and swallow and dart your eyes back and forth. You kinda get locked into looking at them. And its this moment I thought, this is where the birth of all horror films have been made. In this room of creepiness/art. I feel this would be the perfect backdrop for those gore movies. I swear Im not morbid, just maybe watched to many scary movies.

After leaving the muesum I walked over to the park attatched, the jardi de les escultures. A public park with some fun sculptures. I noticed a small path behind the parc and decided,well Im here anyway, and walked thru, and found another amazing park. This one is jardins de laribal. It kinda had that feel as if you had you own spanish mansion, and this is what the grounds would look like. It was a great walk, im glad I stumbled across it. Another interesting thing I stumbled arcross in the park was an older gentleman, who decided, this day is too hot. I shall strip off my clothes, and be free in my underwear to worship the sun. And that is how I found him. Mostly naked, looking like a butterball turkey as he stood facing the sun, head held high, arms on his hips. No reservations. I think thats called indecent exposure back home. Here its just called, europeans.

After a quick metro ride, my last stop was the Picasso museum. Cool paintings and drawings from Picasso from the time he was 15 or so till close to the end of his life. i got to see some of his blue period, as well as his dabbling with different styles of painting. Some more Matisse like, others more Van Gough. Interesting to see his different techniques and artistry.

I finished up the day in the Born district,then stopped at el tres tomb, a restaurant close to my apartment. I tried the spanish potato omelet and squid rings. I likes the omelet, would be good for breakfast.. Everything else, was ok. Montjuic tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Healthy froyoHealthy froyo
Healthy froyo

Sweetened with stevia and fruit smoothie on top.


16th June 2013

Lol...
Charlet! I like it! Haha!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb