An intinerant no more (at least not as much)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 5th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I must say that I am really excited to be back in Barcelona, mostly because my experience from here on out is going to be quite a bit different from the way the trip has gone till now. For one thing, I have something to do, something to work on. More importantly though, it will be a much more personal experience in terms of meeting people.
I started my day at 5:30 Barcelona time since I did not know how long it would take me to get to the airport. So I hopped on the metro for about 15 or 20 minutes to Victoria station, caught the Gatwick express that took me straight to the airport without any stops. You really have to hand it to the Europeans for their mass transit. The novelty of being able to complete an entire trip from the doors of my hotel in London to my bed here in Angus’ flat in Barcelona without a car still has not worn off.

At any rate, I made it here to Barcelona and met Angus, who turned out to be a very amiable and hospitable Englishman. After studying Arabic and the Middle East at university (another good english-ism) the job market was apparently somewhat depressed (“you could’t get a job at McDonalds”), so he and a friend decided to do “this TEFL thing” in Barcelona. He really enjoyed it and decided to stay on for another year, which turned out to be another fifteen years. He will be here for another two weeks and then he will be back in England to visit his parents. After that it will be me, Olga, and a guy named Courtney whom I’ve not yet met. Olga is a week into a course that is similar to the one I will be doing. She is Russian and apparently wants me to teach at her school in Vladivostock instead of going back to the US. I might just take her up on it. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to arrive just in time for a Russian winter? All joking aside, opportunities abound all over the world to teach. That kind of mobility and flexibility is pretty incredible to me and while teaching doesn’t seem like a long term career at this point, I could certainly think of worse things to do. Tomorrow I am going to track down one of the books we need for the course and do some grocery shopping. Goodnight all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb