Spain -Barca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

City centreCity centreCity centre

Great place simply to hang out and watch people
This is the final post in a short series of posts coming from a trip I made in February 2012. I was only in Spain a week but I had such a great time that I wanted to share a lot of details and photos. I don't know Spain well... many years ago I worked in Santander and visited Santiago de Compostella on the pilgrim route, but Barcelona has been on my list for a while; this was my first visit, and I will definitely go again. What a brilliant city!

Although it was February the weather was generally fine, cold, some sun the occasional drizzle, but good walking weather and I strolled around the city doing my usual thing of getting lost and seeing what happened. This is something not so easy to do in Asia or Africa, where wandering off the beaten track won't let you find a superb little coffee and cake shop down a dark alley by the Cathedral. Try Beunas Migas - excellent!

Barcelona is hard to write about because it can so easily turn into a cliche, which is why I've written specific posts about the things that really moved me and then let
Buenas MigasBuenas MigasBuenas Migas

Near the Cathedral - another hang out with great cakes and coffee
photos do the talking.

Practical side: arriving and departing from the airport is a breeze - beautiful new faciity, efficient staff; rail transport is great (see my post about a trip to Alicante) and the hotel was OK - but that was my choice because I wanted to be near the Sants main rail station.

Use the Metro - it's wonderful and cheap and gets you everywhere. Drop into the myriads of little bars and cafes and restaurants. Hang out. The nice thing I found about Barca was that for a big city (big enough but not overwhelming) it is relaxed and seems safe enough, political demos and the occasional football match aside.

Tourist information here



Note: the photo layout is dictated by Travelblog.org's software....... I disclaim responsibility.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Cat house FreneriaCat house Freneria
Cat house Freneria

No, not really... but a lighted shop front in the Old Quarter of the City which sells all kinds of cat nick knacks
Las RamblasLas Ramblas
Las Ramblas

Beautiful houses even on a winter's day


Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 137; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb