10k Race


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 27th 2011
Published: November 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Race ShirtRace ShirtRace Shirt

I got this shirt from running the Jean Bouin 10k Race
I ran a 10k race in Barcelona the day after my parents left the city. The race was called the Jean Bouin Race and its course went through really cool parts of the city. I got a cool shirt for running the race, which is part of the reason why I registered.

The race started at the base of Montjuic and 10,000 people participated. I was in the last group at the start line because I didn't have a 10k race time to improve my starting group. I ran down Gran Via of Charles V, to the Arc of Triumph, along Port Veil, up Parallel, and finished at the base of Montjuic. It was a really fun race and I got to see a lot of Barcelona during the race. My final time was 45:23 and I finished 2,031 out of 10,000 people. I'm sure I could've run a faster time if I seriously trained for the race but I was content with my time.

Josep Mateu is a professor at IES and he organizes the IES running club. I've been running with him and my fellow classmates on Wednesdays after class since September. He's a really nice guy and we hung out together before and after the race. I owe a lot of credit to him because he lets everyone know when the races in Barcelona take place. After the race we got tea in a small coffee shop near Plaza Espanya. It was cool to talk to him because he told me a lot about Catalans and his opinons on living in Catalonia. The IES club will have its last run in the hills by Mount Tibidabo. I'm looking forward to this because Josep said there's a strong chance of seeing wild boars in the hills on the run.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb