The Montserrat


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 8th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing scenic day it was. Got up and first thing I needed to do was head to the mall to buy and external hard drive since my comp was completely full and I needed to empty my camera memory too so I couldnt leave until that was taken care of. I finally backed up my pictures and there were arund 4000 pictures that I have taken so far in two months ha. Then when my camera was ready to go I headed to the Montserrat. Took about one hour and three trains to get there but it was so worth it. Took the cable car up the mountain which was a little terrifying. As your going up the mountain you see the church just chilling on the side of the Mountain. It is freaking beautiful there. I saw the black Madonna there and walked around the the place. There were three hiking routes each about 1.5 hours i only did one and the views you got were just incredible. After the walking around and the hour train ride back, I was exhausted. I was ready to sleep, but two friends I met in Madrid were at the sam hostel and invited me to go out to eat with them and some Australians. Had some really good tapas and sangria. They also made there own sangria back at the hostel so we all went back to the hostel and drank more sangria. they made 10 liters worth of sangria. i only had 6 glasses and I was fine after that. It was sooo good. We all played cards. Two Australians offered me a ticket to buy to go on a Oktoberfest tour for three days since there friend couldn't go anymore. So i think ill take them up on it. They said ill be the only american, ha, so sounds fun. The dates line up perfectly for my somewhat planned route.

Side note I have volunteered to go to the Arctic circle to work with huskies at a dog sledding tour site in Northern Finland. I shall see if I get it. I mean maybe I'm crazy to go to the artic to work hard for 6 weeks but what an experience it will be. So ill keep y'all posted.

Tonight is my last night in Barcelona. I really liked it here. It goes on my top places I could live if I was to live overseas. Gives me a good San Diego feel. Well off to bed at 3 am and have to get up at 7 to get a train ticket to Marseilla. I hope I get one since I didnt reserve a ticket. Whoops. So maybe tonight wont be my last night. ( I feel like there should be an evil laugh at the end of this sentence. )

To be continued........

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb