What day is it???


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 26th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AvilaAvilaAvila

The Four Posts and Avila at night
Hey guys! Sorry its been a while since Ive updated. Traveling around with 3 other people, especially this group keeps me soooo busy! I pass out hard every night! Matt and his sister got in to Madrid on Sat morning. We immediately went to Avila which was a lot of fun to show them around. Avila was a good place to start out because there´s not much to do and we were all extremely tired, especially Matt and Beth because of the time change. It was fun to climb the walls and see the Four Posts at night though because I hadn´t done either of those. Sunday thru Monday night we were in Toledo. It was a nice city, not s great as I thought it´d be but still really pretty and fun. Matt and I went to a nice dinner in one of the plazas and sipped on sangria and ate tapas the first night. It was a very European feeling dinner! I enjoyed it a lot! We wandered ALLLLL around Toledo on both Sunday and Monday. Lots and lots of walking and climbing up huge hills. We were worn out on Monday night when we got to our hostal
ToledoToledoToledo

Matt and me in Toledo
in Madrid. Tuesday we flew to San Sebastian. It was absolutely beautiful. After getting lost in the pouring rain for abotu 30 min. we finally found our hostal, slept for about 4 hours, and then went to the beach. It was pretty chilly on the first day, but the second day was nice for laying out. We split up our time between 2 different beaches of which I can´t decide which one is prettier. It was a beautiful town. I loved it. Quite possibly my favorite place so far! I took a ton of pictures, but even looking back at the pictures now doesn´t capture how beautiful it was! We went out for AMAZING paella and sangria the first night we were there. I´ve been craving paella ever since because it was sooooo good. For those of you who dont know, paella is a traditional dish in Spain that consists of rice and seafood. Its amazing!

We´ve been in Barcelona since yesterday...thursday. My days are all confused right now and i have no perception of time. Barcelona is great as well. The place where we are staying is close to one of the main strips of barcelona called la
San SebastianSan SebastianSan Sebastian

One of the most beautiful, if not THE most beautiful place I have ever been!
rambla. Our hostel is pretty nice, no hot water in the shower, but when I have more time, I will tell about our hostel experience here yesterday. Crazy stuff! Today Beth, Matt, and I went to a winery about 40 min outside of barcelona that the company that my uncle used to work for did business with or owned (I dont remember which). It was beautiful and it was a lot of fun to do something not super touristy. It was a very classy place and we got to try some of the wine they make there! Sooo good! It was a bit stressful trying to get there and figure out the trains, but it all ended up working otu perfectly! Once we got back to Barcelona, we went to La Sagrada Familia. A HUGE, and i mean HUGE church that was designed by the artist antonio gaudi. The phrase ¨Gaudi¨as in when someone wears too many things that crash or when theres i just way too much stands true of this chuch. It was too much to take in. It wasnt at all what i was expecting on the inside. I knew that it was still in progress of
San SebastianSan SebastianSan Sebastian

perfect sunset
being built, but i had no idea how much in progress it still was. Matt and i climbed up nearly 340 stairs and walked around in some of the towers. It was pretty neat to climb up that high and see different parts that you could only see from up there. I´´ll put up pics as soon as im back home.

Beth, Matt´s sister, and I are about to go have a girls night and get some dinner and a drink or two. I´ll update more later on with more detail! hope yall are doing well!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

hanging out in a plaza
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

enjoying a glass of wine at the winery
BarcelonaBarcelona
Barcelona

La Sagrada Familia


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb