3rd week and still going strong!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 8th 2011
Published: April 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So after a late night saying goodbye to the au pair from Finland (so gutted was amazing girl ) woke early to head to the mountains. They were 2 hours away and very close to the Pyrenees. After 2 hours of unsuccessfully trying to talk to Mia’s host dad in Spanish we arrived and grabbed our skis. It was a beautiful day clear skis and the ski fields are so different- first of all they have trees! The difference between Nordic skiing and normal skiing is that your feet at the back isn’t strapped in and the majority of it is flat and up hills- almost like hiking in the snow- we did a really big track to the top- to see the beautiful views of the Pyrenees and then we had to go downhill- I epically failed at this- although it should be similar to skiing and once you have learnt to ski – you can do it (like riding a bicycle surely? ) hmm don’t know about this! I spent the majority of my time on my bum and ended up doing what little kids do. I sat on my skis and slid down! So much better although felt stupid when I saw little kids gliding down smoothly and I’m sliding down out of control! Mia and her dad thought it was hilarious so there’s photos of me bailing down the hills- I refuse to add them to facebook. ☺ By the time we reached the bottom we had done 18km ! We then hopped in the car and headed home- we were exhausted and slept for about an hour before a toilet stop.
What you have to love about Spain is that we stopped in a little town for a rest and toilet break and we end up at a castle and old historic village. I have included pictures was absolutely beautiful and its crazy that there are castles and towns like this everywhere! New Zealand just has no history!

Sunday: Cruisy day in Sant Llorens then at about 6pm Mia (sweedish au pair) and I went into Barcelona and a group of her friends had hired a limousine for an hour for a tour around Barcelona. I was the only non sweed- but they spoke in English the whole time and were awesome had a good night. As part of the price we got three bottles of cava (Spanish champagne) and hence felt like celebrities cruising around Barcelona drinking cava listening to party music ! We went all around the city- then up to a beautiful hill where there was the best view of Barcelona and was so pretty with all the lights. There was only 5 of us and we had 3 bottles of champagne- so was bound to be a good night. Mia and I were meant to head home but decided to go clubbing on a Sunday night in Barcelona. Believe it or not the clubs were raging and one even had a chocolate fountain- you can guess where I was the majority of the night haha! We also ended up in a small club trying to dance salsa! Really good night- finished up at 6am then caught the train- however fell asleep on train and missed our stop- hence got home just in time to look after our kids! Big day!

Rest of week involved more shopping in Barcleona- I think I will have to send a lot home! Also some sightseeing but alice is coming in a couple of weeks so I am saving all the tourist things for her!

I have decided to join the towns volleyball team- very social – so perfect for me and a chance to practice my Spanish and meet other ‘spanards.’ First night of volley was awesome everyone is really friendly- although I hate the language barrier! Oh well I guess its an incentive to study hard! Next week start language school which I am very excited about.

This weekend I am heading to Pals- or costa Brava which is north from Barcelona for a weekend at the beach! I Hope the weathers nice!



Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

1818
18

failing at nordic skiing!


Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb