Last Day on Land


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A miracle happened! Hope slept for over 8 hours. We started our day with a hearty English breakfast near our hotel. Afterwards we headed to the Picasso museum. Truth time - I generally dislike art museums. I find myself bored. I had to remind my mom that I liked calculus, statistics and chemistry in high school. English and history was not my thing. So even though Picasso has an interesting story… the history doesn’t interest me and the art itself is boring. Snooze. Until this day, there has only been 3 or 4 art galleries where I actually thought if I were rich, I would buy X, Y and Z. They were unknown local artists (enough known though for their work to cost $5,000 and up as only original pieces were sold). As with men, I find it difficult to find someone I really like and am moved by.

On to the one of the most serene parks that I have ever been to, this was Ciutadella Park. It wasn’t crowded. The grass was lush. There was beautiful landscaping and benches all around. The highlight was the Barcelona Zoo. I absolutely loved it. My mom was hesitant to spend our time at a zoo; however she was awing and smiling the whole time! Afterwards, we went back towards the Born area of Barcelona for some lunch. We are definitely coming back to this area when we return from our cruise. It is absolutely adorable! It was Sunday, so many of the shops were closed. Born is an area with tons of boutiques and restaurants. Lunch was fantastic. We went to some modern looking burger/sandwich joint. We tried going to the chocolate museum, but it was too late! We only had 10 minutes until closing. We walked a little more and by 4pm I needed my siesta!

My filmmaker friend from DC (Nihal is her name) joined my mom and I for dinner. On the recommendation of my sister-in-law’s bff, we went to a restaurant not too far from our hotel. It was phenomenal. We ordered veggie couscous which reminded me of my Moroccan couscous. It was even served in a traditional Moroccan tagine pot. Yum! Both Hope and Nihal agreed that it was spectacular. Additionally, we shared Gilthead. Gilthead is a type of fish found in the Mediterranean. I initially thought it was what men may feel after receiving sexual favors from woman they don’t care much for, but in this case, it is just some darn good tasting protein. Cooked with sweet tomatoes and flavored oils, this was one guiltless dinner. Again, this wasn’t a ‘Spanish’ restaurant, but it didn’t matter. We ate some really good eats!

Boarding the boat soon… Super excited!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb