Barcelona Baby


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at nighttime to my little B&B. It is in an extremely old building, with an old lift and even old school keys. My pink bedspread and gorgeous chandelier makes this even cuter than I imagined. My pad for the 1st 2 nights is in the L’Eixample district otherwise known as the ‘new’ town. My plan was to explore this area before moving on to my beachfront home for the week.

I head out to have some dinner. While staring at a menu in Spanish, 2 girls come up behind me and are debating where to eat. I turn around and say English? They said, even better…American. We introduced ourselves and I joined the girls for tapas and sangria. Turns out they are both from DC. One girl quit her job in production to see the world (sound familiar)? She started her travels in Kenya where she made a documentary about orphans affected by AIDS. She lived in the village with no electricity, water, showers, etc… She said it was an incredible experience. The documentary has been acknowledged by different organizations and sounds like it is award worthy. I don’t know her, but I am proud of her. It was clear that she was extremely happy as she accomplished something meaningful (motivation for almost anyone to want to do something major). She is now spending a few weeks in Barcelona. The other girl was visiting her for a week (similar to how I have friends visiting me in different countries). She is a teacher on her summer break. The teacher leaves Barcelona tomorrow. I am hopefully going to explore some of Barcelona with the filmmaker.

Dinner was a lot of fun. The only thing that wasn’t was the aftermath. My stomach has gone into complete couscous withdrawal or something and doesn’t seem to like the food so much. That combination with the 3 glasses of Sangria left me debilitated when I woke up the next morning. I don’t even recall the last time I had such a crap hangover.

Breakfast was at the B&B. While sitting there, a girl checked in. It turns out she just arrived from Virginia. She was exhausted so we both decided to go back to sleep for a few hours and head out for a walk and lunch in the afternoon. Four pepto bismol and advil later I am still sweating profusely but ready to take a walk. We made it about 2 hours just roaming around. We didn’t even pay attention to where we were going… just browsing the streets, cafes and enjoying the nice breeze.

Naptime was most of the afternoon. Around 9pm I got an urge to eat so I went out on my own. I wondered and wondered and I realize my stomach was so screwy I didn’t have an appetite for much. I went into a small café to read my book - How to deal with Anger.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb