Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
February 10th 2005
Published: February 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SeaSeaSea

View from La Rambla de Mar
Wednesday afternoon I flew into Girona, which is about an hour bus ride from Barcelona. I wandered around Barcelona trying to find my hostel (and had an overly friendly Spaniard ask if I was looking for him). After dropping off my bags I took a stroll up La Rambla (walkway through the main part of town that starts at the sea) and up to Palaca de Cataluna, grabbed some food and headed back to the hostel.

Thursday I walked the opposite way on La Rambla and down to the mirador de Colom (Columbus monument that points the wrong way) and went up it - there were some amazing views. I walked down La Rambla de Mar and took some pictures of the harbor and walked down the beach. Then to the parc de la ciutadella where there is a arc de triomf (i'm not sure if its a replica or what). And a bus ride around the city to see a few more sights. Later that night to the train station for an overnight train to Madrid.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mirador de ColomMirador de Colom
Mirador de Colom

view from the top, looking out over La Rambla de Mar
Mirador de ColomMirador de Colom
Mirador de Colom

view from the top looking over La Rambla - too bad the trees weren't green
GaudiGaudi
Gaudi

one of the crazy architect's famous buildings
Gaudi CathedralGaudi Cathedral
Gaudi Cathedral

I wish I could've gotten a better pic of it, but either way you'd just see more scaffolding. When Gaudi died only one of the towers was complete, so through donations they are continuing to build the dream church of Gaudi, and its not supposed to actually be done for another 30 years or so.


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb