Hola!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I left Istanbul on the 24th and flew to Barcelona. It was sad to finish up on the overland trip and head into more mainstream tourism. I have been here for a couple of days now getting back into my artistic roots. I came here to see Gaudi and it has been great having a look at the places that I have seen in books. Today I went to the Picasso Museum which I loved. As you can see the sun was out and real T-Shirt weather. Went to visit the Olympic Stadium from the 1992 games as well as the Olympic Museum and just generally cruised around. All very relaxed.

From Barcelona I caught the train across to Madrid - all very easy. It took about 3hrs to get into the middle of the country. In the meantime a cold snap had hit this part of Europe. Madrid being in the middle of the country was a lot colder than Barcelona (though watching the weather in Spanish it seemed that Barcelona was hit by a big downpour of rain just after I left). I did the "Hop on/Hop off bus" aka Madrid view on the first day. I started the day up the top of the open double decker bus but as it was only 7 degrees I jumped off at the Reina Sofia gallery and tried to warm up. The Reina Sofia is where they house the modern art pieces. I saw Picasso´s Guernica which was just wonderful to see up close. There were also a lot of other Picasso pieces, Mondrian, Miro, and Salvador Dali - once again just loved it all. In Madrid in also went to the Prado Museum, the Real Madrid Football Ground, the Palace and just wandered around. (very cold so the wandering was punctuated with ways of trying to keep warm. In Madrid I joined an Intrepid Travel group and will be travelling through Portugal and Morocco with the trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Park Guell 1Park Guell 1
Park Guell 1

Hard to take a photo here without the tourists in the shot.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb